Chocolate Chip Date Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Just like moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Delicious, moist cake. You don't even notice the dates! Definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Instead of using shortening, I used oil and made these as muffins. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe. I am a beginner and I followed the recipe to the T. The cake turned out truly moist and soft and not too sweet - just the way i like it. It was a big hit with the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This cake is rediculously good. I have never made a cake with dates in it before, but I will now continue to make this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except I left the nuts out because my husband cannot eat nuts of any kind. I dont think it needed nuts anyway, they certainly were not missed. The dates are not visible and there flavor is subtle and give this cake the best texture, moist but not wet. THis recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My mother used to make this cake for us & everyone loved it so much! I can still picture my little brother (about age 6), after gobbling down a piece, w/choc all over his mouth,say "this is the best cake I ever had!" And it really is! I'm making one today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Wow! This equaled my childhood memory! Moist, not too sweet, chocolatey and a great hit at the bake sale! Love it with ice cream or whipped cream! Wowza! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This a keeper. This cake is moist, tender and has incredible flavor. I added half as much sugar on the top of the cake as instructed and added additional chopped pecans. Unfortunately I thought I had regular chocolate chips, but I purchased mini chips so I added less than requested but it was still very good. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
best date cake recipe ever. I just reduced the chocolate to 1 cup. This is my second time to make it and Iwill frduce the chocolate to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
scrumptious! I loved it! SO moist! I usually dont have dates on hand but we had a bunch left over from Christmas that I didn't want to waste! wanted to follow the recipe exactly , but accidentally mixed the chocolate chips into the batter and only had a handful of (wal)nuts to add to the top with the sugar. I used butter, not shortening, and increased the recipe by a half, poured into two loaf pans, as I intended to give one as a gift to a neighbor in thanks for a little favor she did. let's just say, she'll probably be getting peanut butter cookies from us instead! lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States