Chocolate Chip Crispies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Neither the recipe itself nor the reviewers comments indicate what's supposed to happen to the chocolate chips. Since the name of the recipe says "Chocolate Chip" I thought the chips would remain intact. The first time I made this, the chips all melted. The second time I decided to try something different and did not add the chips with the cereal. I took about half of the cereal mixture, patted it into the pan and allowed it to cool for a while. Then I sprinkled the chocolate chips (actually, more like a cup and a half) over the cereal mixture and topped it with the remaining cereal mixture. The chips melted a bit, but the chocolate remained in a layer in the middle of the bars. Either way, these are delicious, and easy to make for a quick treat. I took them for a snack after a meeting last night and everyone commented on how good they were. At one point someone asked if I'd noticed that everyone was eating them and ignoring the other snacks. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
I spent most of Sunday night doing my yearly Christmas baking -- always at the last minute -- and had a *huge* box of Rice Krispies I bought awhile back, but no marshmellows to do the traditional rice krispies treats. I stumbled across this recipe in my determination to find *something* to do with this box of Rice Krispies... and WOW!!! This is even way easier than the traditional rice krispies treats, and just as yummy! Too bad I only have one 9x11 pan though. I wanted to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blanchester, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
What an excellent recipe!! I was actually looking to get rid of some small marshmellows I had, so I added 4 cups marshmellows to the recipe..a bit stickier..but it was so good!! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
These are so easy and no sticky pot to scrub. Kids love them! I make extra and cut them up and keep them in the fridge. Easy recipe for kids to make too. They have become a Girl Scout most asked for recipe in our troop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANY BROWN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Playgroup LOVED these! I lined my cake pan with wax paper for easy 'lifting' out of the pan. I also stored them covered overnight, maybe that's why mine were still soft the next day? I followed the recipe exactly, using both chunky and creamy peanut butter. I followed another suggestion of spinkling the chocolate chips between two layers of the rice cereal mixture to keep the chocolate from melting. These were a HUGE HIT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I have made this recipe twice now..everyone loves it. I made it out of special K cereal and I melted extra choc chips with a bit of milk and sugar and spread it over the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
yummy!!!! my daughters and I just made them----so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
I've never given a recipe a 3 before, but I'm just not sure what the big deal is about these bars. I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed. They were very dry, the bars fell apart when I cut them, and the flavor was not good at all. They were worse the next day, as the rice crispies got stale and crumbly. I'm glad so many people have had success with these bars, but I won't make them again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I have changed my review to 5 stars after a second attempt at these treats. I used natural peanut butter for richer flavour, and milk chocolate chips instead of semisweet. The key to this: use less rice crispies than stated in the recipe! I used only 6 cups and this made the bars fantastic... 8 cups was just too dry. Turns out these are a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Delicious bars, and so quick to fix. Light and tasty, the kind of snack you may need before and during your university exams (personnal experience ;)): a real boost of carbs. Even if you don't have to go through this terrible experience, make them just for their taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States