Chocolate Chip Crispies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I was not impressed at with this. Try the recipe for sctocheroos - it's much better altough the recipes are almost the same thing. Soft, chewy, not at all dry, and just as easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
This is GREAT! Doubled the recipe, added 1/2 stick (4T) of butter, 2T extra corn syrup, and a generous dash of salt--balanced the flavor. I substituted reduced-sugar peanut butter for half the recipe, which kept it from being overly sweet. The chocolate chips definitely melted, but it tasted great all swirled together...should be called "Chocolate Peanut Butter Crispies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
I've never given a recipe a 3 before, but I'm just not sure what the big deal is about these bars. I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed. They were very dry, the bars fell apart when I cut them, and the flavor was not good at all. They were worse the next day, as the rice crispies got stale and crumbly. I'm glad so many people have had success with these bars, but I won't make them again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Neither the recipe itself nor the reviewers comments indicate what's supposed to happen to the chocolate chips. Since the name of the recipe says "Chocolate Chip" I thought the chips would remain intact. The first time I made this, the chips all melted. The second time I decided to try something different and did not add the chips with the cereal. I took about half of the cereal mixture, patted it into the pan and allowed it to cool for a while. Then I sprinkled the chocolate chips (actually, more like a cup and a half) over the cereal mixture and topped it with the remaining cereal mixture. The chips melted a bit, but the chocolate remained in a layer in the middle of the bars. Either way, these are delicious, and easy to make for a quick treat. I took them for a snack after a meeting last night and everyone commented on how good they were. At one point someone asked if I'd noticed that everyone was eating them and ignoring the other snacks. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
Definitely fool proof. Of all the easy baked goods I tried this one came out the best. A bit too swet for my taste though- but over all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
good, a bit dry. Next time I'll use only 8 cups of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Yummy, quick & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Maybe I'm just a stick-in-the-mud, but I personally prefer traditional rice crispies treats. These did not taste bad at all, in fact, they tasted very good, it's just my own personal preference. My fiance can't stop eating them, so I will make these again. Took maybe a total of 5 minutes to make these up, so great treat for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Delicious bars, and so quick to fix. Light and tasty, the kind of snack you may need before and during your university exams (personnal experience ;)): a real boost of carbs. Even if you don't have to go through this terrible experience, make them just for their taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States