Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I hesitate to give this recipe even one star. I followed this recipe exactly. Been making muffins since 1968 and have never had anything come out so awful. They not only looked unappetizing, but after cooling down, they were hard as a rock! Went directly into garbage can. What a waste of good ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These came out perfectly!! I made a dozen and they were gone in a couple of hours!! (even my husband who is insulted by muffins in general loved them)I followed the recipe exactly, except that I used vanilla soy milk instead of cream since that is what I had on hand, and I added a little bit more milk until the texture seemed right. I was a little worried because of the bad reviews here, but I remembered reading in "The Joy of Coking",that different flours have different properties depending on moisture content and age and how they are stored:some flour will need more milk, and some will need less, so use your best judgement when adding liquid to avoid hard muffins! Thanks for sharing a super recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I loved these muffins and so did my kids. I doubled the batch and didn't have enough cream cheese so I also used non fat yogurt the only flavor I had was Cream Brule and also didn't have cream so used non fat milk and used 1/4 cup less flour. I also used brown sugar instead of white. They turned out so soft and light not cake like. Thanks for putting the recipe here for me to try!! I will make them all the time now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
I added more chocolate chips than it called for, they were a huge hit. The cream cheese adds just a hint of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These muffins are FANTASTIC! I made a couple modifications based on other reviews...and here's what I came up with: (By the way, I doubled the recipe) I used 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of white sugar, and 1 cup of brown sugar. All other ingredients were just as the recipe calls for. I was concerned at first because the batter was very, very thick...but they turned out wonderful. I took these in to work as a birthday treat for my co-workers and they would not stop raving about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
I made these for my daughter who loves a similar muffin at our local store. She really liked them, next time I would add a bit more sugar and use mini chocolate chips. I think these changes would make them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I think they're really delicious and my boyfriend loved them. I modified the recipe by accident by putting in 1 cup flour instead of 2! It's a blessing in disguise as they turned out to be nicely moist. Also, I used 300g (instead of 224g) of cream cheese. The only complain that I have is that they collapsed after I took them out of the oven. They didn't stay puffed up like they did in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
These are fantastic! I was so impressed and will hold on to this recipe as a new family favorite. I used 2% milk instead of cream and doubled the sugar (because we like our muffins sweet). They were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
THESE MUFFINS ARE REALLY GOOD. TO MY TASTE THE RECIPE NEEDS A LITTLE MORE SUGAR BUT OVERALL THEY ARE DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I was looking for a strawberry cream cheese muffin. Didn't find one specifically so I decided to modify this one a bit. I didn't have cream so I used 1% milk, I used brown sugar instead of white as others had suggested and last I used about 1 1/4 diced strawberries instead of chocolate chips. Before I added the strawberries I thought the batter looked a little too thick, but after I added them it moistened up nicely. I will make these again, but next time I will smash the strawberries & add a little white sugar to them to sweeten the muffin up a little more. I'm sure they would have been sweeter with the chocolate chips. One other thing I baked them at 350 vs 400. I think 400 is too hot when you are baking. Only 4 stars because I think the batter would have been too thick w/o the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States