Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Three & A Half stars. Following suggestions, I doubled the sugar (1/2 brown & 1/2 white), 1/4 cup less flour, and 2% milk, and a full teaspoon of vanilla, plus a FULL bag of semi-sweet (reserved some to place on top of muffins before baking) The half cup of milk was *not* enough, so I added more until the dough texture was where I'd like it to be. Checked at 18 minutes, weren't quite ready, pulled at 20 and although the tops were nicely golden, the bottoms were too dark for my liking. Only mildly sweet, with the additional sugar... GREAT texture - light & fluffy. Pretty good flavor, but didn't knock my socks off. If I make these again, I'll try to jazz 'em up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I made these this morning for a breakfast treat. I have 2 extra children all week and ww wanted something to make. They really enjoyed these. I did follow the advice of some others and doubled the sugar half white and half brown. I know I used more chips too....but I didn't measure, we just dumped them in. We made them into mini muffins. Baked for about 15 minutes....I got 48 tasty little treats. Thanks Eggy for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
These were super-duper good...i made them for breakfast, and they were perfect!!! they were light and fluffy although they were a little dry. but other than that...man, were they good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This recipe tasted good but i had to add another 1/2 cup of milk just to make the dough not so think. i also used 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips in this recipe which gave them more flavour. i used the suggestions from some of the other people and added 1/4 cup more sugar and they tasted very good but had a slightly weird texture, kind of rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
great muffins but tasted like they were missing something, will read through reviews for suggestions and will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Made exactly as the directions called for. I think they were a bit too dry and could use more cream cheese or something. They were okay, but not something I will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This recipe calls for WAY too much flour!! Egads, was this batter thick!! I had to add more liquid. And even after all that they only tasted "ok". The texture is rather weird and I've had tastier recipes. If I use this recipe again, I will definitely make some changes. They weren't sweet at all, so if you like your muffin a little "bland" (no offense), then by all means, try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
thanks for this recipe - we used skim milk instead of cream, and the reduced fat cream cheese - and we think they are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Amazing! Only word to describe these :) I didnt have any cream on hand, so I used half a cup of milk, and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I'm not overwhelmed with the results of this recipe. I had to decrease baking time because the muffins browned unpleasantly after only about half of the baking time was over. They turned out ok, but I'm sure that if I hadn't pulled them out of the oven early they would have been as hard as a rock. Taste-wise they are ok but not exceptionally great, some extra-kick is missing here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catrin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States