Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were very good. Had some cream cheese I was trying to use up and I came across this recipe. Only thing I did differently was that I used mini chocolate chips and they worked great. The cream cheese gives these such a nice and rich flavor and texture. Not overly sweet. Since I like my muffins on the sweeter side I might use a bit more sugar next time. So good warm out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The secret to making these taste like cream cheese is to NOT soften the cream cheese. That will leave it somewhat chunky and adds to the flavor tremendously! I also make these with some of the other suggested modifications: 3/4 milk instead of the cream, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 3/4 cups flour (I sometimes use whole wheat, too!), and 3/4 to 1 cup sugar (white or sucanat). One of my favorite muffins when made this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gehbienes
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These came out great. I was a little nervous at first since the dough seemed a bit on the "gummy" side, like it had too much flour, but the end result is almost perfect. The muffins are light, fluffy and have the right amount of chocolate in them. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made a half batch of these to use up some cream cheese, but did use a whole egg which may be why my batter wasn't as thick as other reviewers have found it to be. I also used milk instead of cream as my cream had spoiled. My daughter and her boyfriend seemed to love them. Thanks Eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These muffins were more like cookies to me because they turned out more crunchy than moist. Tastes good though! Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Ok for me these were ok i will probably not make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These muffins are FANTASTIC! I made a couple modifications based on other reviews...and here's what I came up with: (By the way, I doubled the recipe) I used 3 cups of flour, 1 cup of white sugar, and 1 cup of brown sugar. All other ingredients were just as the recipe calls for. I was concerned at first because the batter was very, very thick...but they turned out wonderful. I took these in to work as a birthday treat for my co-workers and they would not stop raving about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I added a little more sugar for flavor and 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips instead of 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I've made this recipe several times now. First the consistency of the batter is more like cookie dough than muffin batter. Next, I usually get 24 muffins as opposed to 12. This decreases the cooking time to 14~15 minutes. While they aren't as big as the ones in the picture, they still peak over the tops of the muffin cups. Next, I've found that adding the egg to the butter/cream cheese mixture without the cream works best for overall homologous mixture. Also, 1/3 cup of chocolate chips..ppphhht! I add a full cup. I love these, they keep well for an entire week in a loose-fit container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I was looking for a strawberry cream cheese muffin. Didn't find one specifically so I decided to modify this one a bit. I didn't have cream so I used 1% milk, I used brown sugar instead of white as others had suggested and last I used about 1 1/4 diced strawberries instead of chocolate chips. Before I added the strawberries I thought the batter looked a little too thick, but after I added them it moistened up nicely. I will make these again, but next time I will smash the strawberries & add a little white sugar to them to sweeten the muffin up a little more. I'm sure they would have been sweeter with the chocolate chips. One other thing I baked them at 350 vs 400. I think 400 is too hot when you are baking. Only 4 stars because I think the batter would have been too thick w/o the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States