Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Used butter and tripled the recipe. First batch came out not really cooked but then flattened them and made them a bit smaller and they are awesome! Best chocolate chip cookies ever! They were still super moist days later, just like chewy chips ahoy- but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
AMAZING cookies - just like my moms! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyOne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Pretty much all that you'd want from a traditional chocolate chip cookie. First of all, they have great flavor. (Cookie dough MUST have a little salt for best flavor!) They're moist, soft, chewy and tender, no doubt from the higher ratio of brown sugar to white. As the submitter suggested, I used half butter and half shortening, aiming to achieve the best properties of both. It doesn't surprise me this was "Grandma's" recipe. They always seemed to know how to do it right. My personal preference, however, is for a drier, crispier cookie but that is just my preference and not a criticism of this recipe. My five star rating, then, is for those whose preference is for a softer chocolate chip cookie. What's nice about this particular, softer cookie is that it doesn't rely on a lot of fat to make it so. I believe it's all about that extra amount of brown sugar as well as making sure they aren't overbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My family loves these cookies! I've received many compliments on these chocolate chip recipe, some were even shocked that these were home made from scratch. I used softened butter instead shortening and, since I don't have brown sugar on hand, I've had to substitute white granulated sugar and add blackstrap molasses. I also have to bake them for a longer time - closer to 12 minutes to get them baked properly. I'm starting my third batch because I these cookies keep disappearing as quickly as I make them. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I bake a lot, even sell my goods. I followed the recipe to a t. The cookies taste like nothing except shortening, even after using butter. They are too flat and just crumble apart when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
scrumptious! i used half shortening, half butter, and used chopped hazelnuts instead of walnuts. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Tasty standard chocolate chip cookies - I didn't add walnuts, but they were still delicious. The brown sugar adds a nutty flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was fantastic! I did have to alter the recipe only because I had to make due with what I had on hand. No shortening so I used same amount of butter, no baking soda so doubled amount of baking powder, I used dark chocolate chips since I didn't have milk, and no nuts so I used same amount of dried cranberries. Fantastic! something about the dark chocolate & cranberries that just made this for me. Great recipe will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Absolutely excellent. I like that it's such a small batch. The only real modification I did was use unsalted butter because that's what I had. I also used parchment paper to line the sheet because it helps the cookies release like a breeze. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Amazing! They came out perfect. I doubled the recipe, and it made plenty. I used half cup shortening and half cup margarine. My husband LOVED them and said they were the best I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States