Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Didn't really like these, because of the texture. All of my cookies usually come out of the oven soft and chewy, but these started to be dark brown around the edges while the middles were oily and almost as gooey as warm, raw cookie dough. Other than that, the flavor was pretty good for an all-shortening recipe. I just can't get past the fact that the middles were undone. Probably won't try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I substituted the shortening with butter and they made great pan cookies. Very buttery and nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
its a real easy recipe and they come out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
the dough tasted great! Cookies came out with crisp edges and soft centers. ^_^ Just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Wonderful soft cookies, just like my grandma made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is the most decadent chocolate chip cookie I have ever tasted and by far the very best of the best! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I picked this recipe because we don't cook with butter in my house. The intent with these is to freeze the batter and bake the cookie dough into cupcakes. I made a few substitutions: used 1/3 cup vanilla soy milk instead of the egg because we were going to be eating the dough raw Doubled the amount of vanilla Instead of shortening, I used 1/2 cup of coconut oil. The coconut oil gave the dough an amazing coconut flavor. Not only did I eliminate trans fat from the recipe but I increased the omega 3 and 6 fatty acids. It almost makes the dough healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Best cookies ever! I omitted the shortening and used just butter, and added about an 1/4 tsp of almond flavoring. The cookies did not last a day in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Great recipe, increased the vanilla as suggested by other reviews doubled the recipe and instead of the walnuts I added 1 cup of oats. Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Negaunee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gwinn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
These are very good and the small batch is occasionally just what the Doctor ordered. I had these in a basket on my table for unexpected guests in less than an hour. I did not add nuts and I used a stick of butter for the shortening. I also upped the flour to 1 1/4 cups. Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States