Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I am a GF, DF and egg free wife and mother of three. No one else in this house shares my allergy!!! I've made these cookies many times and I cant tell you enough how good they are. We follow the recipe exactly and use the Bob's Red Mill All-purpose flour replacer or a homemade blend that uses garbonzo or fava bean flours as the main. No one knows, no the neighbors or the kids and they are astounded when you tell them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I made these twice and the second batch was MUCH better. The first time I used the rice flour, cornstarch mixture recommended here. Second batch I switched to 1 1/4 cup rice flour, 1/4 cup potato starch, 1/4 cup tapioca flour. This mixture was MUCH better. I used 2 eggs, 1tsp. xantham gum instead of baking powder, and dark brown sugar instead of light brown. The batter is thick, so spread the cookies out before baking. Bake only for 6-8 minutes. They will not brown as nicely as wheat cookies, and they get very dry is overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
These are incredible. I used vegan margarine, gluten free AP flour and flax seed meal and water as my egg replacer (1tbsp meal in 3 tbsp warm water). Mine took 10 minutes to bake and they are pure delicious perfection. I cut the salt back to 1/2 tsp after reading other reviews. I also added closer to 2.5 c of flour and then ended up needing a few more tbsp of margarine, so I would say the recipe is perfect as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is a great recipe, I've served it at school functions and these cookies get gobbled up! I like to decrease the chocolate chips by half and add in some raisins and a teaspoon to two of cinnamon. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEBRALOP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I haven't tried to make these yet and perhaps I should wait until I do..planning to make them for a couple friends that have gluten allergies..but I do know that if you soften butter too much that even a "normal" cookie recipe can flatten out like some of you are describing so I would soften the butter only just enough to be able to cream it into the sugar, egg/substitute and vanilla then add the dry ingredients...hope that solves it because here I'm off to give them a try...they just look too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Really good but off course the results will be based on what Gluten free Baking mix you use9too much rice flour and you may get a grainy texture, too much bean and thus a bean taste). I used full eggs, no need for egg substitute in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Rizko Dunsmore-Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
These taste great! Thank you, thank you!! I used two eggs instead of the egg substitute and increased the flour by 1/4 cup. As other reviewer's suggested, I reduced the sugar by 1/4 (left out some of the brown), and they're plenty sweet. Instead of baking powder, I added 1 tsp xanthan gum just because it was recommend by my GF baking mix. Even my 14 year old gobbled them up, knowing they are GF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These were pretty good for a gluten free cookie. I'm celiac, so to find a decent chocolate chip cookie recipe is a big deal. I used vanilla bean and demerara sugar (which is similar to brown, but it's a bit more moist and coarse). I left it in the refrigerator overnight to let the flavours really develop. Also, I used earth balance instead of butter because I'm vegan. Wonderful, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I took some liberties with this one due to laziness of not wanting to go to the store at night to get the proper ingredients. I was out of butter so I used a 6oz + 2tbp of plain greek yogurt, 2tbp of canola oil, 2 cups of Arrowhead Mills GF baking mix, 1/4 cup of oats, 1/4 cup of cocoa powder and half a bar of dark chocolate that I chopped into pieces and 1/2tsp xanthan gum. I was surprised at how great they turned out; moist in the center and crusty on the outside. They do not spread much so I flipped them halfway and flattened with egg lifter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Used 2 eggs and baked for ten minutes @ 375 degrees. Turned out still a bit chewy-perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States