Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These are SO GOOD!!! I read that people were finding that it was dry with the egg replacer, I found this to be true, so I put 1/4 cup of apple sauce in the mix. I think that these are better than, the wheat and egg ones. These are YUMMY as my 3y/o tells me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I got plenty of compliments on these. I made my own GF baking mix (a hodge-podge of white rice flour, glutinous rice flour, sorghum flour, tapioca flour, cornstarch, and xanthum gum) and used 2 eggs (no substitute in the house!). The cookies are thick and chewy and SO EASY TO MAKE! Texture of the dough was perfect: the variations of thickness seen by other reviewers have to be based on choice of baking mix. Thank you for such an simple, tasty GF recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I found this recipe when I grew tired of paying $5 a box for the Betty Crocker mix. After I had everything all mixed up I was SO excited to see that it actually looked like regular cookie dough instead of a dry crumbly mess. However the uncooked dough does not taste good at all. Infact, I wasn't going to bake them due to the terrible flavor. My mom talked me into baking them and OMG I am SO glad she did they are AMAZING!!!! I did find they stuck to the aluminum foil even though had sprayed it. I plan on using Reynolds Release next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great gluten free cookie recipe! They held together well, taste good, and you'd never know there wasn't egg & gluten in them! Based on other reviews - I used a little more flour (1 c Pamela's GF baking mix, 1 c Sorghum flour, and 1/3 c coconut flour - which uses up a lot of liquid). I added 1 tsp Guar Gum for consistency, and used 1 T chia seed soaked in 3 T water until gummy as my egg replacer. I used 1 c choc chips, and 1/2 c pecans too. All my egg & gluten eating friends loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
SMITHERS22, if you're still reading this... You need to check the baking mix she used- some, like Bob's Red Mill AP mix, require the addition of xanthan gum as a gluten replacement, others like Pamela's mix already have it in there. I have found that sticking my cookie mix in the fridge for at least an hour or so (or the freezer for 20 minutes, if I'm feeling lazy) and putting it back while the cookies are baking instead of just leaving it out on the counter helps prevent against flat cookie sadness. You could also try adding more baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I am a GF, DF and egg free wife and mother of three. No one else in this house shares my allergy!!! I've made these cookies many times and I cant tell you enough how good they are. We follow the recipe exactly and use the Bob's Red Mill All-purpose flour replacer or a homemade blend that uses garbonzo or fava bean flours as the main. No one knows, no the neighbors or the kids and they are astounded when you tell them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I made these twice and the second batch was MUCH better. The first time I used the rice flour, cornstarch mixture recommended here. Second batch I switched to 1 1/4 cup rice flour, 1/4 cup potato starch, 1/4 cup tapioca flour. This mixture was MUCH better. I used 2 eggs, 1tsp. xantham gum instead of baking powder, and dark brown sugar instead of light brown. The batter is thick, so spread the cookies out before baking. Bake only for 6-8 minutes. They will not brown as nicely as wheat cookies, and they get very dry is overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
These are incredible. I used vegan margarine, gluten free AP flour and flax seed meal and water as my egg replacer (1tbsp meal in 3 tbsp warm water). Mine took 10 minutes to bake and they are pure delicious perfection. I cut the salt back to 1/2 tsp after reading other reviews. I also added closer to 2.5 c of flour and then ended up needing a few more tbsp of margarine, so I would say the recipe is perfect as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This is a great recipe, I've served it at school functions and these cookies get gobbled up! I like to decrease the chocolate chips by half and add in some raisins and a teaspoon to two of cinnamon. Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEBRALOP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I haven't tried to make these yet and perhaps I should wait until I do..planning to make them for a couple friends that have gluten allergies..but I do know that if you soften butter too much that even a "normal" cookie recipe can flatten out like some of you are describing so I would soften the butter only just enough to be able to cream it into the sugar, egg/substitute and vanilla then add the dry ingredients...hope that solves it because here I'm off to give them a try...they just look too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States