Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe. I have been having a lot of trouble this year finding good GF recipes. They usually call for about three different kinds of flour as well as xanthan gum, which are all things that are not readily available in my area. This recipe was simple and easy. I only gave it a four because the cookies turn out very crunchy, and I am a fan of soft, chewy cookies. Still, my husband took these to work, and nobody noticed that they were GF . . . score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Over all the texture of the cookies were good, however they had a strong chalky taste. I used a pre done all purpose gf flour mix and I think thats what went wrong. I will have to try these again with one of the mixes that some other people have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So I am using Honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelvv5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I absolutely love these cookies! I have been trying to make a good gluten free, egg free cookie and before now, haven't been successful. I live at high altitude and these are perfect!! No running, they don't fall apart, and they taste just like regular chocolate chip cookies (which I can eat but my husband can't). Thanks so much for this recipe, it will be a staple in our household. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Good cookies that everyone liked. I added xanthum gum (1/2 tsp.) and used a whole fresh egg. Baked them on parchment paper. They held together well and raised like a wheat made cookie. These were my first attempt at homemade cookies and pleasantly surprised. BTW, I added the xanthum gum to the sugar/egg mixture not the flour. I also left out the salt, as I need low sodium as well as GF diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
i used maple syrup to sweeten and added a bunch of BACON, awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Gerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Used bobs red mill gluten free baking flour, 1 egg, 1/2 cup of each sugar. Plenty sweet. Cookies do spread out so add more flour if you want denser cookies. These came out sweet and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These cookies were delicious! I used one egg instead of substitue and followed everything else. Baked for 9 min and they were perfect. Soft and chewy and my office loved them. They taste no different than regular chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe as written except I used the brown sugar with Splenda product rather than straight brown sugar, used a real egg, dark chocolate chunks and added chopped walnuts. I wish I had read the reviews first. As many of the other reviewers mentioned, the cookies were very flat and fell apart when attempting to transfer them from the cookie sheet to the cooling rack. They were very gritty. So much so that I couldn't eat them. I would give the recipe one star except that my fiance and kids liked them. I will try making the changes suggested by other reviewers (omitting the white sugar and adding more GF baking mix) and will adjust my review then if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I am newly GF and knew I couldn't do this without a good chocolate chip cookie. This is the first one I tried and won't waste my time on any others. It was PERFECT! Dare I say as good as AP Flour cookies? They were soft and rose very well! *If you had trouble with them rising make sure your soda is NEW, less than 2 months old. It should flow out of the box (don't scoop) with no clumps. I never use butter, always margarine (tub or stick, I used a tub this time) and have never had a problem. It is already soft and chilled. Put your baking sheet in the freezer each time before you drop the cookies so they don't spread before entering the oven. I also chill my dough between batches. Here is how I made mine: Tub butter Same type/amount of sugars Regular vanilla extract (not a celiac so i'm not too worried) 2 eggs Same baking soda NO baking powder 1/2 tsp salt 1/2 C quick oats 1/2 bag of chopped nuts and chocolate chips GF Baking Mix: 1 1/2 cups white or brown rice flour 1/2 cup potato starch (not potato flour) 1/4 cup tapioca flour 1 tsp xanthan gum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States