Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Soy Free Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The only Problem with these cookies are getting them into the oven. The batter is soooo good. My cookies are still in the oven, but they look and smell great. I used equal parts brown rice flour, Glutinous rice flour, Tapioca Flour and arrowroot flour. I also used yogurt for the egg substitute (Coconut milk yogurt, plain). This recipe could also be easily changed to make it dairy free as well. By using Palm shorting instead of butter, and the dairy free chocolate chips. I use semi sweet chocolate chips from soyfreesales.com they are free of most common allergens. Back again: I have made these cookies many times now. using several varieties of GF flours. They are not all good my favorite purchased brand is namaste's biscuit and pie crust mix. But what I have found out if you freeze the batter first. It greatly improves the texture. Just portion the dough then freeze. Place frozen cookies straight into preheated oven cook until just starting to brown and then cool on the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made these for my husband who is allergic to gluten. He thought they tasted pretty good. I thought they tasted good for being gluten-free. My kids even ate them which is a true test to any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed these cookies. I used white and brown rice flour instead of the baking mix and they turned out great. I also substituted almond extract for the vanilla and added some oatmeal (a little healthier). I will defiantly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These are like little cookie cakes from heaven! Both my son and I are gluten free, and we haven't had a decent chocolate chip cookie in forever. I've tried numerous recipes with no luck, and all the pre-packaged stuff you buy tastes awful. I made a few substitutions because I needed something quick to bring for a birthday party and didn't have any butter on hand. I replaced the butter with 1 cup of fat free vanilla yogurt, used 2 eggs, and only used 1 cup brown sugar and no white sugar (since the yogurt was already sweet). I also added 1 tsp xanthan gum. It made a batch of 28 cookies. I am making these again FOR SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Excellent! I made these for my husband who thought I was making homemade cookies with flour. He loved them! He even said they were better than his recipe. Then I told him they were GF and he didn't believe me. I only had 1 c brown sugar so I added more white sugar to make up for it. Next time I'll use the recommended amount of brown sugar because I think it made the cookies not as sweet. The chocolate chips made up for it and they were great. I also didn't use salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Wow! These were so good I couldn't stop eating them. I used Bob's Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour, plus added 1/2 tsp xanthan gum (per directions on Bob's baking mix). I also used Earth Balance soy free margarine b/c my toddler can't have soy. I thought the batter was a little thick at first too, but I just used my hands to shape it into balls and baked it as 2 Tbsp balls. Did I mention they are light & fluffy?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
really yummy if you do not over bake. changes i made 1/2 cup whole cane sugar or Sucanat , 1/4 cup blue agave, 2 eggs, 1 tbls almond milk vanilla flavor, 1/2 cup sorghum flour, 1/2 tsp sea salt, 1 tsp guar gum, dark chocolate chips baked 6 minutes at 350 no more otherwise cookies were crumbly. Defiantly not regular chocolate chip cookies, but really really yummy with changes i made and not to over cook. would have given 5 stars if i did not have to make so many improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'm always looking for gluten free goodies to make for my niece who is sensitive to gluten and I feel bad that she can't eat all the 'good stuff' like the rest of us. I didn't have a gluten free baking mix so I made my own consisting of 1/2 c tapioca flour, 1/2 c Quinoi flour, 1/2 c buckwheat flour and 3/4 c oat flour. I then added 2 tsp of xantham powder to ensure it all 'sticks' (I found this all at the grocery store, Real Canadian Superstore or Loblaws). I reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp. and used 1 egg instead of the substitute. I used 3/4 c of margarine instead of the butter and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 c. I always use a mixture of milk chocolate chips and semisweet chocolate chips when making choc chip cookies, I think they taste even better that way. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
they taste good, but they're as flat as pancakes and fall apart when I pick them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is my first successful attempt at baking cookies! Before this it was all store bought, but a professor of mine can't consume gluten products. So I decided to give this a try. He loved it! According to him, every other gluten free cookie has tasted like chalk, so he gave up trying, but he actually wants this recipe from me! Everyone else in my department also loved them and my friends couldn't even taste the difference. I did use 1 egg instead of the egg-substitute, and the recommended scooping size is perfect for small cookies for munching. Also, I baked in my oven for 6.5 minutes to get the right chewy consistency. Any longer and the cookies became hard and burnt on the underside. Warning though, this recipe makes A LOT of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States