Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I guess I am not used to GF yet. I didn't like the gritty flour taste. They are sweet and I used the flour ration a previous member recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harvey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Maybe the different review results have something to do with the brand of GF flour? I used Bob's which is bean based - and I could definitely taste it in the dough, but the cookies themselves were wonderful and I couldn't tell the difference between these and toll house. I did use 2 eggs and I did add 1 tsp xanthan gum, and reduced baking soda to 1/2 tsp (I can always taste it when I am not countering it with an acid). The first couple batches spread nicely, but stuck to pan more than traditional cookies, but the last batch I used parchment paper and they came right off. Mine looked just like the picture. Really a nice treat for my wheat intollerant daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I'm looking forward to trying this recipe. It's going to be the first time I use an egg substitute and hopefully, the outcome will be positive. It's great that more and more people are cooking gluten-free for so many reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Harrisson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this recipe using the recommendation by one of the first reviews, 1/2 c cornstarch, 1/2 cup brown rice flour and 1 1/2 cup white rice flour and a real egg (no allergies here) and they were terrific!!! We were amazed at how great they tasted. I have already made a second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These came out great! I like the crispy edges, soft center. I modified by adding 1/2 tsp of Xantham Gum for the 2 cups of flour I used, and I also used a real egg, and added 1/4 cup of oats. They took 10 min to bake on 360. These taste just as good to me as the traditional. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was hit and miss. I made it with more flour as many suggested, and it never spread out. After adding more butter and sugar, they were falling apart. Then I had to play with the baking time, making it 10 minutes, and reducing the cookie size and shaping it on the pan to be round and flat on top so it would hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
GLUTEN-FREE/DAIRY-FREE/EGG FREE TWEAKS: Made these today/delicious, but daughter detected aftertaste of either baking soda or powder, so next time I'll eliminate the baking pwdr (original Toll House cookies only use bkng soda so why would one use both baking soda and baking powder? I will try to find out...) My changes: Increased butter to 1 cup & used a dairy-free butter spread from Whole Foods; Increased vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp; Used 3 tsp EnerG Egg Replacer mixed with 4 tbsp water (as per box instr) This equals 2 eggs; Decreased brown sugar to 3/4 cup; Substituted 1/2 cup agave syrup for the white sugar; Used Red Mill all purpose baking mix & increased to 1 1/2 cups to make up for liquid agave; Decreased salt to 3/4 tsp; Used 2 c dairy-free choc chips; . Baked 10 mins 375 degree oven. Cookies are crisp w/slightly soft middle. Almost perfect! (but no bkng pwdr next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were awesome and no one even realized they were gluten free!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was my first attempt at gluten free baking and it went surprisingly well. I didn't have time to run to the health food store so my only choice of flour was sof'ella gluten free all purpose baking mix. It includes baking powder, baking soda, vanilla powder and sea salt in the ingredients so I omitted these from the recipe. I went ahead and used two eggs because I am not sensitive to them. For the sugar I used 1 cup turbinado and 1/4 cup pure organic cane sugar. The dough was fantastic too. Much better than regular cookie dough in my opinion : ) I followed another reviewers suggestion to freeze the cookie dough after dropping it onto the cookie sheets for about 10 minutes before baking them. They only took about 6 or 7 minutes to cook and while some of them looked not quite ready I pulled them anyway because the bottoms were slightly brown. They were perfect after cooling for a few minutes. Overall, they turned out great! They are not as heavy as regular cookies but I expected that with the gluten free rice flour/navy bean flour in the baking mix. They were chewy and delicious and most importantly my husband approved which is very rare when I try to bake something 'healthy'. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Rivers
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe was great!! The cookies baked perfectly and are still chewy! Definitely better than I've made with flour, that's for sure. Based on others' recommendations, I did change it a bit. For the baking mix, I used: 1/2 cornstarch, 1/2 brown rice flour, and 1 1/4 cup white rice flour like one reviewer said, as well as 1 tsp of xantham gum. I also used 2 eggs instead of 1 because the mixture was a bit dry. I think next time I will use more brown rice flour just for nutrition. I'm not a celiac patient, but plan on being a gastroenterologist when I graduate from med school; as a result, I wanted to experiment with gluten-free recipes. This website is by far, better than any cookbook I've looked at!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States