Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Tasted great, but Can anyone tell me why my cookies spread out flat? I used margarine instead of butter and 2 eggs instead of egg replacement. Any ideas? They fell apart too but I think that's because of the absence of xantham gum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickyO
Living In: Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I used soy flour and oat flour..also used 1 egg and 1 egg yolk. Nice and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Very good gluten free recipe. I used 2 eggs instead egg substitute. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
These ROCK!!! I used organic coconut spead instead of butter and non dairy choc chips. I also added 1/4c of apples sauce so wouldn't be dry after reading the reviews along w/ putting the batter in fridge to harden. Can't wait for the holiday cooking, gluten free is fun with your help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These are SO GOOD!!! I read that people were finding that it was dry with the egg replacer, I found this to be true, so I put 1/4 cup of apple sauce in the mix. I think that these are better than, the wheat and egg ones. These are YUMMY as my 3y/o tells me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I got plenty of compliments on these. I made my own GF baking mix (a hodge-podge of white rice flour, glutinous rice flour, sorghum flour, tapioca flour, cornstarch, and xanthum gum) and used 2 eggs (no substitute in the house!). The cookies are thick and chewy and SO EASY TO MAKE! Texture of the dough was perfect: the variations of thickness seen by other reviewers have to be based on choice of baking mix. Thank you for such an simple, tasty GF recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I found this recipe when I grew tired of paying $5 a box for the Betty Crocker mix. After I had everything all mixed up I was SO excited to see that it actually looked like regular cookie dough instead of a dry crumbly mess. However the uncooked dough does not taste good at all. Infact, I wasn't going to bake them due to the terrible flavor. My mom talked me into baking them and OMG I am SO glad she did they are AMAZING!!!! I did find they stuck to the aluminum foil even though had sprayed it. I plan on using Reynolds Release next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great gluten free cookie recipe! They held together well, taste good, and you'd never know there wasn't egg & gluten in them! Based on other reviews - I used a little more flour (1 c Pamela's GF baking mix, 1 c Sorghum flour, and 1/3 c coconut flour - which uses up a lot of liquid). I added 1 tsp Guar Gum for consistency, and used 1 T chia seed soaked in 3 T water until gummy as my egg replacer. I used 1 c choc chips, and 1/2 c pecans too. All my egg & gluten eating friends loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
SMITHERS22, if you're still reading this... You need to check the baking mix she used- some, like Bob's Red Mill AP mix, require the addition of xanthan gum as a gluten replacement, others like Pamela's mix already have it in there. I have found that sticking my cookie mix in the fridge for at least an hour or so (or the freezer for 20 minutes, if I'm feeling lazy) and putting it back while the cookies are baking instead of just leaving it out on the counter helps prevent against flat cookie sadness. You could also try adding more baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraithegeek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I am a GF, DF and egg free wife and mother of three. No one else in this house shares my allergy!!! I've made these cookies many times and I cant tell you enough how good they are. We follow the recipe exactly and use the Bob's Red Mill All-purpose flour replacer or a homemade blend that uses garbonzo or fava bean flours as the main. No one knows, no the neighbors or the kids and they are astounded when you tell them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States