Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was my first shot at making gluten free cookies. Full disclosure, I added a few challenges by making the dough at home and baking the cookies in a propane oven at 8000 feet. Having said that, I followed the other reviews and used 4 cups of the GF flour, cut the salt in half and used 2 real eggs. Meh. I personally enjoy a thinner cookie, and these turn out awfully thick. I also enjoy all things salty, so I don't think the salt would have been offensive to me. I added chopped walnuts, which was a good little crunch. Not sure I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
The first time I made these the only change i made was I used real eggs and they came out pretty too flat. The taste was very good though. I don't advise adding 2 cups more of the baking mix that one reviewer said. I added 1 extra cup the second time and they turned out too fluffy. I don't care for cakie cookies so i was disappointed. I used 2 eggs instead of the substitute and used dark chocolate chips because my husband is lactose intolerant. Next time I will us 1.5 eggs and the said amount of baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Van Hullebush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
These cookies are awesome! I used Bobs Redmill GF baking mix (it recommends using xanthan gum, but I did not add it) and they still turned out soft. I also cut the sugar. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white. For the egg replacer I used ground flax seed. (1 TBSP ground flax seed per 3 TBSP water is equal to one egg) I used enough to replace 2 eggs. I also used dairy free chocolate chips. I was amazed that these tasted as good as they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eureka, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I added 1 tsp of xantham gum and used 1 real egg instead of the substitute and they were ahh-mazing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I baked these 2 different ways. The first way by the oven I would give them about 3.5-4 stars. They were a little browned, flattened, and misshaped. Not a very pretty cookie. The second way I used my NuWave Oven. I baked them in it on the 2" tray, lined with foil and sprayed with PAM. I baked them on medium power for about 12 minutes, I believe, from dough balls I had froze with a cookie scoop. They looked pretty, or more like the picture, this time, and had a nice soft texture. GF baking mix, is essentially ground rice, potato starch, and tapioca starch. So, don't be expecting a wheat flour baked texture. GF baked goods are more of a starchy taste with a slight graininess. I am comparing them to other GF cookies I have tried, especially the bagged ones at the store, and they are rather descent. Only change I made was making 1/2 recipe and subbing 1 egg for the egg subtitute suggested. Making 1/2 recipe yielded 28 cookies using a cookie scoop. I used dark chocolate and I did like that these weren't overly sweet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I'm new to gluten free baking so I was unsure what "baking mix" was. I used all white rice flour. They were very dry and crumbly so I baked them for a couple minutes as balls and then pushed them down with a spoon. I think this recipe has way too much salt. I would only use 1/2 tsp next time. I also used a real egg. I might play with the ingredients a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was my first try at GF chocolate chip cookies. These are WAY too salty. Next time I'll used unsalted butter or cut the salt in half and go from there. They do spread out and if you don't let them sit on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before transfer to the cooling rack (per the recipe). If you don't let them sit they will definitely fall apart. You can't treat these the same as a regular chocolate chip cookie recipe. They're a little gritty, but they're a LOT better than I thought they would be. I would have rated 5 stars, but they're just way too salty. I used Arrowhead Mills Pancake & Baking Mix and used 1 large egg instead of the substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmhosea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe. I have been having a lot of trouble this year finding good GF recipes. They usually call for about three different kinds of flour as well as xanthan gum, which are all things that are not readily available in my area. This recipe was simple and easy. I only gave it a four because the cookies turn out very crunchy, and I am a fan of soft, chewy cookies. Still, my husband took these to work, and nobody noticed that they were GF . . . score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Over all the texture of the cookies were good, however they had a strong chalky taste. I used a pre done all purpose gf flour mix and I think thats what went wrong. I will have to try these again with one of the mixes that some other people have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So I am using Honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelvv5

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States