Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Used bobs red mill gluten free baking flour, 1 egg, 1/2 cup of each sugar. Plenty sweet. Cookies do spread out so add more flour if you want denser cookies. These came out sweet and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These cookies were delicious! I used one egg instead of substitue and followed everything else. Baked for 9 min and they were perfect. Soft and chewy and my office loved them. They taste no different than regular chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I followed the recipe as written except I used the brown sugar with Splenda product rather than straight brown sugar, used a real egg, dark chocolate chunks and added chopped walnuts. I wish I had read the reviews first. As many of the other reviewers mentioned, the cookies were very flat and fell apart when attempting to transfer them from the cookie sheet to the cooling rack. They were very gritty. So much so that I couldn't eat them. I would give the recipe one star except that my fiance and kids liked them. I will try making the changes suggested by other reviewers (omitting the white sugar and adding more GF baking mix) and will adjust my review then if they turn out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I am newly GF and knew I couldn't do this without a good chocolate chip cookie. This is the first one I tried and won't waste my time on any others. It was PERFECT! Dare I say as good as AP Flour cookies? They were soft and rose very well! *If you had trouble with them rising make sure your soda is NEW, less than 2 months old. It should flow out of the box (don't scoop) with no clumps. I never use butter, always margarine (tub or stick, I used a tub this time) and have never had a problem. It is already soft and chilled. Put your baking sheet in the freezer each time before you drop the cookies so they don't spread before entering the oven. I also chill my dough between batches. Here is how I made mine: Tub butter Same type/amount of sugars Regular vanilla extract (not a celiac so i'm not too worried) 2 eggs Same baking soda NO baking powder 1/2 tsp salt 1/2 C quick oats 1/2 bag of chopped nuts and chocolate chips GF Baking Mix: 1 1/2 cups white or brown rice flour 1/2 cup potato starch (not potato flour) 1/4 cup tapioca flour 1 tsp xanthan gum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
These are great chocolate chip cookies and the first that I've made that didn't get flat and runny. I took advice of others: decreas brown sugar by 1/4 cup, increase flour by 1/4 cup, used 2 eggs (no egg allergies). Mine cooked for 12 minutes, they were crunchy outside and chewy inside - perfect. I kept the dough in the fridge while the others cooked so the dough wouldn't get soft/runny. Cooked on parchment and no issues with sticking. My daughter tasted one right out of the oven and asked for more. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These turned out flat as a pancake using the recipe to the tee. They are also very sweet! I will use others suggestions, reducing the sugar, and adding more flours. It also may depend on what flours you use. I use a combo of tapioca flour, sorguhm flour, and potato starch. I added more flour to my second batch, and they are looking MUCH better! We'll see how they taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a good and chewy choc chip cookie. One tsp of salt was way too much. Salt dominated the taste so much I added 1/4 c oat flout to counteract. Keeper recipe but I will probably skip the salt altogether. Texture often is an issue with GF recipes. Not so with this one. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
These are SO good, soft & moist. Cannot tell the difference between these & cookies made with all-purpose refined wheat flour. I am not sensitive to gluten or eggs, I just like trying other grains & avoiding wheat. I used kamut flour (apparently has gluten) and 1 egg in place of the egg-substitute. We love the results. Thank you for a great wheat alternative cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was my very first gluten free recipe I tried and I was pleasantly surprised. For baking mix I used a pre-mix brand called Tom Sawyer (I bought it at the health food store nearby). I added two eggs. I would definitely suggest keeping the cookies on the cookie sheet for at least 2 minutes after cooking as suggested in the recipe. Otherwise the cookies will crumble. Next time I might add a tablespoon of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winooski, Vermont, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States