Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I added 1 tsp of xantham gum and used 1 real egg instead of the substitute and they were ahh-mazing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I baked these 2 different ways. The first way by the oven I would give them about 3.5-4 stars. They were a little browned, flattened, and misshaped. Not a very pretty cookie. The second way I used my NuWave Oven. I baked them in it on the 2" tray, lined with foil and sprayed with PAM. I baked them on medium power for about 12 minutes, I believe, from dough balls I had froze with a cookie scoop. They looked pretty, or more like the picture, this time, and had a nice soft texture. GF baking mix, is essentially ground rice, potato starch, and tapioca starch. So, don't be expecting a wheat flour baked texture. GF baked goods are more of a starchy taste with a slight graininess. I am comparing them to other GF cookies I have tried, especially the bagged ones at the store, and they are rather descent. Only change I made was making 1/2 recipe and subbing 1 egg for the egg subtitute suggested. Making 1/2 recipe yielded 28 cookies using a cookie scoop. I used dark chocolate and I did like that these weren't overly sweet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I'm new to gluten free baking so I was unsure what "baking mix" was. I used all white rice flour. They were very dry and crumbly so I baked them for a couple minutes as balls and then pushed them down with a spoon. I think this recipe has way too much salt. I would only use 1/2 tsp next time. I also used a real egg. I might play with the ingredients a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was my first try at GF chocolate chip cookies. These are WAY too salty. Next time I'll used unsalted butter or cut the salt in half and go from there. They do spread out and if you don't let them sit on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before transfer to the cooling rack (per the recipe). If you don't let them sit they will definitely fall apart. You can't treat these the same as a regular chocolate chip cookie recipe. They're a little gritty, but they're a LOT better than I thought they would be. I would have rated 5 stars, but they're just way too salty. I used Arrowhead Mills Pancake & Baking Mix and used 1 large egg instead of the substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmhosea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe. I have been having a lot of trouble this year finding good GF recipes. They usually call for about three different kinds of flour as well as xanthan gum, which are all things that are not readily available in my area. This recipe was simple and easy. I only gave it a four because the cookies turn out very crunchy, and I am a fan of soft, chewy cookies. Still, my husband took these to work, and nobody noticed that they were GF . . . score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Over all the texture of the cookies were good, however they had a strong chalky taste. I used a pre done all purpose gf flour mix and I think thats what went wrong. I will have to try these again with one of the mixes that some other people have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So I am using Honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelvv5

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I absolutely love these cookies! I have been trying to make a good gluten free, egg free cookie and before now, haven't been successful. I live at high altitude and these are perfect!! No running, they don't fall apart, and they taste just like regular chocolate chip cookies (which I can eat but my husband can't). Thanks so much for this recipe, it will be a staple in our household. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Good cookies that everyone liked. I added xanthum gum (1/2 tsp.) and used a whole fresh egg. Baked them on parchment paper. They held together well and raised like a wheat made cookie. These were my first attempt at homemade cookies and pleasantly surprised. BTW, I added the xanthum gum to the sugar/egg mixture not the flour. I also left out the salt, as I need low sodium as well as GF diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
i used maple syrup to sweeten and added a bunch of BACON, awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Gerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States