Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe was great!! The cookies baked perfectly and are still chewy! Definitely better than I've made with flour, that's for sure. Based on others' recommendations, I did change it a bit. For the baking mix, I used: 1/2 cornstarch, 1/2 brown rice flour, and 1 1/4 cup white rice flour like one reviewer said, as well as 1 tsp of xantham gum. I also used 2 eggs instead of 1 because the mixture was a bit dry. I think next time I will use more brown rice flour just for nutrition. I'm not a celiac patient, but plan on being a gastroenterologist when I graduate from med school; as a result, I wanted to experiment with gluten-free recipes. This website is by far, better than any cookbook I've looked at!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
followed the recipe and the cookies came out too salty and fell apart easily. :( i might try it again with adjustments, but will probably just look for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This came out better than my wheat/egg cookies ever did. I live at high altitude (over 7,000 ft), and finally made a soft, chewy cookie, thanks to this recipe! My only substitution was vegetable shortening instead of butter. I used Bob's Red Mill General Purpose Baking Flour, with about a teaspoon of xantham gum, for my baking mix. I had no problems with runny dough using this version. Thanks for bringing home-baked cookies back to my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
We tried this, wanted to love it, but just couldn't. We used Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten Free Flour, which states on the front that it is ideal for cookies, cakes and the like, but they just ended up tasting like bean pods with chocolate. \
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennerD
Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
OK I read many many reviews on this recipe, since I've been on a quest for the perfect GF choc chip cookie recipe for a while now. The search is over- this recipe really is that much better than the others! The cookies are soft/chewy on the inside and crisp on the edges- seriously perfect, and I bake a LOT so I'm tough to please. Here's what I'd recommend on the tweaks, based on the other reviews and my experience: I cut the brown sugar by 1/4 cup, NOT the white sugar, since white sugar adds the crispiness. I think even with the full amount of sugar it would be fine. I used 1.5 eggs, although if you use 2 eggs just up the flour a bit more. I used 2 3/4 cup GF flour (used Bob's GF flour, which also requires 3/4 tsp xanthan gum be added). Cut the salt in half (1/2 tsp) or leave it out if your baking mix has salt in it. Definitely SIFT the dry ingredients as recommended since this makes the cookies softer and minimizes the graininess. If your cookies spread too much, add more flour to stiffen the dough. With the proportions above, I had a totally normal consistency dough. I dropped them onto the cookie sheet and pressed them a bit since the cookies didn't spread on their own. Finally, bake them til the edges/tips are slightly browned. This recipe makes a large-ish batch but I'm so glad I doubled it because these cookies ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
These were a great texture. I did chill the dough for about an hour, and they did not spead much at all. My hubby said they look like store bought. Used GF Panty AP flour, and made sugar substitutions as well. Also used a couple of eggs rather than egg replacer. In short, this is a wonderfully adaptable GF recipe. I bet it is phenomenal with real sugar! Thanks for the great recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is my first day of gluten free living so I am probably not doing everything right but thought I would share a couple of changes that I will make the next time. The baking mix that I used was rice flour based & for some reason they did not spread out while baking. As the first tray came out quite round I shaped subsequent batches flatter. Will reduce the salt. The batter was quite stiff & I had a hard time stirring in the large sized chips. Will use mini chips the next batch and add a T of milk if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I like this recipe- though I prefer recipes that use all scratch as opposed to mixes as part of its ingredient list. I think it needs more sugar- the dough is not sweet enough for my taste. Overall- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soy Free Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The only Problem with these cookies are getting them into the oven. The batter is soooo good. My cookies are still in the oven, but they look and smell great. I used equal parts brown rice flour, Glutinous rice flour, Tapioca Flour and arrowroot flour. I also used yogurt for the egg substitute (Coconut milk yogurt, plain). This recipe could also be easily changed to make it dairy free as well. By using Palm shorting instead of butter, and the dairy free chocolate chips. I use semi sweet chocolate chips from soyfreesales.com they are free of most common allergens. Back again: I have made these cookies many times now. using several varieties of GF flours. They are not all good my favorite purchased brand is namaste's biscuit and pie crust mix. But what I have found out if you freeze the batter first. It greatly improves the texture. Just portion the dough then freeze. Place frozen cookies straight into preheated oven cook until just starting to brown and then cool on the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made these for my husband who is allergic to gluten. He thought they tasted pretty good. I thought they tasted good for being gluten-free. My kids even ate them which is a true test to any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States