Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Excellent! I made these for my husband who thought I was making homemade cookies with flour. He loved them! He even said they were better than his recipe. Then I told him they were GF and he didn't believe me. I only had 1 c brown sugar so I added more white sugar to make up for it. Next time I'll use the recommended amount of brown sugar because I think it made the cookies not as sweet. The chocolate chips made up for it and they were great. I also didn't use salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Wow! These were so good I couldn't stop eating them. I used Bob's Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour, plus added 1/2 tsp xanthan gum (per directions on Bob's baking mix). I also used Earth Balance soy free margarine b/c my toddler can't have soy. I thought the batter was a little thick at first too, but I just used my hands to shape it into balls and baked it as 2 Tbsp balls. Did I mention they are light & fluffy?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
really yummy if you do not over bake. changes i made 1/2 cup whole cane sugar or Sucanat , 1/4 cup blue agave, 2 eggs, 1 tbls almond milk vanilla flavor, 1/2 cup sorghum flour, 1/2 tsp sea salt, 1 tsp guar gum, dark chocolate chips baked 6 minutes at 350 no more otherwise cookies were crumbly. Defiantly not regular chocolate chip cookies, but really really yummy with changes i made and not to over cook. would have given 5 stars if i did not have to make so many improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I'm always looking for gluten free goodies to make for my niece who is sensitive to gluten and I feel bad that she can't eat all the 'good stuff' like the rest of us. I didn't have a gluten free baking mix so I made my own consisting of 1/2 c tapioca flour, 1/2 c Quinoi flour, 1/2 c buckwheat flour and 3/4 c oat flour. I then added 2 tsp of xantham powder to ensure it all 'sticks' (I found this all at the grocery store, Real Canadian Superstore or Loblaws). I reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp. and used 1 egg instead of the substitute. I used 3/4 c of margarine instead of the butter and reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 c. I always use a mixture of milk chocolate chips and semisweet chocolate chips when making choc chip cookies, I think they taste even better that way. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
they taste good, but they're as flat as pancakes and fall apart when I pick them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is my first successful attempt at baking cookies! Before this it was all store bought, but a professor of mine can't consume gluten products. So I decided to give this a try. He loved it! According to him, every other gluten free cookie has tasted like chalk, so he gave up trying, but he actually wants this recipe from me! Everyone else in my department also loved them and my friends couldn't even taste the difference. I did use 1 egg instead of the egg-substitute, and the recommended scooping size is perfect for small cookies for munching. Also, I baked in my oven for 6.5 minutes to get the right chewy consistency. Any longer and the cookies became hard and burnt on the underside. Warning though, this recipe makes A LOT of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
maybe i just don't eat cookies that often anymore but they seem way too sweet, after taste is all sugar. milk made them much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I have celiac and do not often find gluten free cookie recipes that are worth eating, but these were amazing. I made these cookies but substituted two eggs for the egg substitute. My family, who don't usually eat GF foods, tried them and asked me to make them again because they all loved them so much. Light, tasty and delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These are great cookies if you do as other reviewers have suggested. Half or quarter the salt (1/4 to 1/2 tsp salt), eliminate the white sugar, and add 2 more cups of gluten free mix to thicken the batter and your batter will be perfect and really tasty. Otherwise it is too salty and your cookie melts to an 1/8 in and 5-6inches wide. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I can't believe so many people said these are good. They have a metallic taste and I'm pretty sure it's from the teaspoon of salt. Maybe without the salt they'd be OK, but I had to pitch them all and am sad I wasted all of my expensive organic ingredients on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States