Chocolate Chip Cookies for Special Diets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
They were ok I guess for a 'special diet' cookie. They have a weird texture, kind of flaky and soft. I used Splenda, and 1% milk instead of water. Also the dough had a weird consistency, and tasted kind of like sugar cookies which was nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
my cookies came out more like a bread-cake cosistency than anything else, without much taste at all. i think i may make again, but with more butter and maybe alittle regular sugar. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Very good! I did as others suggested: doubled vanilla, used milk instead of water, used half splenda, half brown sugar, used whole wheat flour, omitted the nuts and flattened before baking. Next time I'll try a sugar-free brown sugar and sugar-free choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
My dad is a diabetic & a very picky eater lol. I make these with Splenda, and he loves them. I omit the nuts, double the vanilla, and use skim milk instead of water. The rest of the family loves them too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe was pretty good. The cookies were pretty tasty within a few hours after being baked. The next day they were quite dry and crumbly. I made these for a neighbor who is a diabetic...I'm glad that I waited to taste them again the next day before giving them to her. I don't think I'll be making them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This cookie was a huge hit with everyone, especially the kids. They had no idea that it was made without sugar. I did make some changes after reading everyone's comments. I doubled the recipe & still did not get more than 60 cookies - I used a mini scoop. To make the color better, I used 1/2 Splenda & 1/2 Splenda Brown Sugar. Instead of regular chips, I used mini chips (it looked like more chips). I used 1/2 vanilla & 1/2 almond extract. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I made this recipe for a diabetic friend,she said they were the best chocolate chip cookies she's had. I tasted them and thought they were pretty good. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I made your cookies the other night, it wasmy first time using sugar substitute when baking. I loved them they turned out awesome. I even used light marg. I was alittle unsure when they didn't brown. but they were great!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Exactly what I was looking for!! Great taste and an easy recipe to follow. And as a hint to others, Hershey's makes a sugar free chocolate chunk made especially for baking. You can find it stores like Walmart in their candy isle not the baking isle. Also there is a grain sweetened chocolate chip out there called Sunrise. It's usually found in your organic health food stores. But it does melt much easier in higher heats. Also if you spray the cookies with butter flavored pan spray a couple of mins before cookies are done baking it will help turn the cookie brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This Christmas my family held a cookie exchange, and since my dad's a diabetic, I decided to make these. I was surprised at how easy they were to make! And even though I may have underbaked them just a skosh, they were a hit with my dad, and everyone else who tried them. No one could believe they were low-sugar. To be fair, some of the other sugar-loaded cookies may have tasted a bit better than these, but hey, for a low-sugar treat, I was impressed. It's not a "health-bar" kind of cookie, or a fruity cookie stand-in. It's a real cookie. And a real treat. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States