Chocolate Chip Cookies for Special Diets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Very good cookie, i used milk instead of water, doubled the vanilla and used about a third of brown sugar and the rest splenda. I baked a bit longer than 12 min, about 15 and they turned out great. My husband recently became diabetic and he is VERY VERY picky but he loved loved loved these cookies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
My husband requested some sugar-free cookies and I was out of white flour so I substituted with whole wheat flour. The flour wasn't the problem, it was the after-taste that splenda leaves in baking. They were biscuit-like: dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I am a cookie LOVER but am trying to cut back on calories so I was so excited when I found this recipe. I read the reviews and took the advice of others to make this more 'regular' cookie-like but was very disappointed. They were dry and tasteless even with the modifications others suggested. This might be OK for people who aren't cookie lovers, but for those of us who know a good cookie-this recipe isn't going to cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I have diabetes and I've tried lots of sugar-free friendly foods, but this is one of my favorites. The cookies stayed soft, despite being well-cooked. The semi-sweet chocolate chips add extra carbs, but not significantly compared to the carbs straight sugar would add. This wouldn't rank at the top of my favorite cookies of all time, but definitely my favorite sugar-free cookie. Double or triple this recipes though. Not a lot of dough, only made 24 small cookies (under size of golf ball).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PromQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I am on a low carb diet and came across this recipe to satisfy my sweet tooth. I was pleasantly surprised. These cookies are sooo yummy! I used sugar free chocolate chips to further reduce the sugar. They did not flatten much like regular choc. chip cookies do when baked. Also, I only got about 15 cookies out of this recipe. This recipe is a keeper for those limiting their sugar intake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Here is a little hint to make these cookies as much like "regular cookies" as possible, for every 1c sugar substitute, add 1/2c dry milk and 1/2t baking soda. Just check cookies 3-5 mins. prior to original recipes bake time. You can use this for any cookie recipe, just trade out sugar for substitute and extra needed items. Works everytime! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made 2 variations of this recipe for my dad this holiday and they came out great :). Substituted: 1/2 C. flour with 1/2 C. soy protein flour substitute; 1/8 C. flour w/ 1/8 C. ground almond. I used splenda for the sugar sub. Be sure to flatten the cookies a bit before baking. 1st variation: added 1/2 tsp. almond extract & used Hershey's sugar-free chocolate almond bars chopped + chopped roasted almonds. I accidentally left out the egg in this, but it came out great still (crumbles a bit easier, but dad loved this one best). 2nd variation: sub'd 1/2 tsp. vanilla w/ 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract; added 1/8 C. unsweetened hershey's cocoa powder; used 1/4 C. sugar-free choc bar chopped + 1/4 C. andy's mints chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Batter's viscosity was a little weird. It was goopy & nothing like cookie batter (maybe this was my error). Verrrrry sticky batter which caused a problem when forming them on my cookie sheets. While in the oven, the edges burned but the middle stayed raw (I did flatten these cookies as well prior to baking them). But i'll give you two stars because the raw batter tasted great! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
They were ok I guess for a 'special diet' cookie. They have a weird texture, kind of flaky and soft. I used Splenda, and 1% milk instead of water. Also the dough had a weird consistency, and tasted kind of like sugar cookies which was nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
my cookies came out more like a bread-cake cosistency than anything else, without much taste at all. i think i may make again, but with more butter and maybe alittle regular sugar. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States