Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This one of our favorites! However, we use one stick of butter melted and THEN cooled to room temperature. If you put hot melted butter into this recipe it will melt your chips and then they will sink to the bottom. Also, I add a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a pinch of salt, just like a regular chocolate chip cookie recipe calls for. This gives it a little more of a chocolate chip cookie taste. I also use 3 eggs to give it a lighter consistency. Remember to blend the eggs until foamy before adding the other ingredients. To make it even easier I use a Pillsbury pie crust. The crust seems to absorb some of the butter and comes out fairly crispy, much more so than a homemade crust. Bake at 325 for 50 minutes. I have been playing around with this recipe for a few years and think I pretty much have it perfected by now. Put this in the oven just before you sit down to dinner and by the time you are ready for dessert it should be out and cooled enough to serve! It is always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
The flavor of this pie is great, it definitely tastes like its namesake. However, I think the recipe needs some modifications. My crust was nearly burned by the time the filling was set (1 hour 15 minutes) and it was saturated with butter. Also, my chocolate chips were melted into a solid layer at the bottom, not bits throughout the filling. Next time I will tke the advice of a previous reviewer who says they used 1/2 cup of butter. I will have to experiment to figure out how to get the filling done without an overdone crust. I think the filling could stand up to 350 degrees, so that may be the solution. Also, I think it doesn't have to be set all the way to the center before removal from the oven. The filling exactly fit a deep dish frozen pie crust (Marie Callendar's).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
i left this is the oven for about 1 hour and 20 minutes at a slightly higher temperature for the cookie pie to cook all the way through. (i put an aluminum ring -- a pie pan with the center cut out -- on top of the pie to keep the crust edges from burning.) it was very rich and tasty right out of the oven, but i enjoyed it much better after having set it out overnight and eating the next day. i used a deep dish pie crust and had no problem with spills or too much mixture. good recipe, will keep it for an easy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
we LOVE this pie - yes, it is very rich, but very, very good! i only use half the amount of butter called for, and usually bake it a little longer so it isn't "gooey" in the middle. thanks for sharing a great recipe!!! ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This pie is yummy! ODD thing was I was using Nestle's chocolate chips for this recipe and found that this is the same recipe on the Nestle's bag except that Nestle uses 1 3/4 cups butter instead of 2 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
awesome:) I made one for the nursing home my Mom is at and the girls all wanted the recipe. Made one for home the next day...gone in a flash. Here is a little helpful hint: I used a quiche/flan baking dish. It is maybe 11 inches in diameter. Nothing soggy, worked great! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Made according to recipe, this was floating in butter which I actually poured off the pie. Will try again with only 1/2 cup because otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
This was as good as promised! We had ours with vanilla ice cream, and this helped balance the richness of the pie. I did make one change: I added just a handful of nuts rather than a cup, as I was afraid it would be too heavy. I was glad I did this - if your family doesn't really like pecans or walnuts, I think it would be fine without this addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
As is this pie does not work - it should be 3/4 C of butter instead of a whole cup! Otherwise it tastes like eating a mouthful of butter. With 3/4 C butter the recipe is DIVINE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This was a GOOD Dessert. Everyone loved it. I found that it needed a lot of time to settle before I could serve it. I would leave two or three hours to cool and settle before preparing ot serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States