Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I made this cake as a birthday cake for my mother. Her favorite ice cream flavor is Black Rap\spberry and her favorite cookie is an Oreo. I used a 10-inch springform pan to make this recipe. This is how I adjusted the recipe: 1 (1lb 4 oz.)pkg. oreo cookies 6 tbsp. butter 2 pints Edy's Dreamery ice cream (black raspberry avalanche) 1 qt. edy's vanilla bean ice cream 1/2 cup hot fudge I used 30 crushed Oreos and the butter to press into the bottom of the pan and froze it for 10 minutes. I then spread room temp. hot fugde over the bottom and lined up whole oreos around the edge of the pan. I froze 15 minutes and then spread the Dreamery icecream into the pan over the crust. I froze 30 minutes. I then added a layer of the vanilla and smoothed the top. I had 3 remaining Oreos and so I crushed them very finely and spread them over the top of the cake. I think added hot fudge and cherries and whip cream would have made the cake way too sweet. It was just perfect like this. This is a very flexible recipe and I will use it again with ingredients tailored for the recipient! I will probably make it for my husband's birthday in March with Pecan Sandies, caramel sauce and Butter Pecan ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Great, simple recipe! I did two layers of ice cream instead of scoops and then put a layer of whipped cream on top (Cool Whip tasted great!). I also put a layer of some remaining cookie crumbs and other full 11.5 oz bottle of fudge between the two ice cream layers. Just a suggestion...nuke the fudge. That way you can just pour it on instead of spread, which tends to bring the cookie crumbs up. I made it for my boyfriend's birthday, and he said it was the best ice cream he's ever had. It's so easy and delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I made this for my husband's birthday lastnight. I have 7 kids and they said it was the best ice cream cake ever!! I used a deep dish glass pie plate. I used vanilla ice cream and regular sized chips a hoy cookies. I didn't make the last addition of ice cream into balls, I just did it like the first one--smooth.This is a recipe you can really be creative with.--by changing the type of cookie, adding Twix,recees etc around the side, sprinkiing m&m's on top....changing the flavor of ice cream etc. when we have company over, I thought I'd double the recipe and make it in a longer pan etc. You can't really go wrong with this recipe. I kept it covered while it was freezing to avoid the ice cream tasting like the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Thank you Arvilla for such a wonderful recipe! I made this for my son's 18th birthday and it turned out better than anything you would get in a five star restaurant!!! I used Oreo cookies (my son's favorite) instead of chocolate chip, and I used cookies-n-cream ice cream for the bottom layer, and Häagen-Dazs vanilla for the little scoops on the top! I re-froze the cake after each layer, and softened the ice cream for the scoops. For the middle layer, I used more hot fudge mixed with crushed Oreo cookies, and then a thin layer of Cool Whip, then topped it with little mini scoops of Häagen-Dazs vanilla and decorated with mini Oreo cookies! It literately turned out picture perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
The only problem I had with this is that the bottom layer stuck to the pan... I think because the fudge layer did not "lay on top of" the cookie layer. It got mixed in. I think this could have been avoided with an added freezing period before putting on the fudge layer. Eveyone loved the taste and presentation of the cake however, and I would definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Impressive presentation for my son's l6th birthday! I used a deep dish pie pan and would suggest spraying it with Pam. Pouring hot margarine over crushed Famous Amos chocolate chip cookies made a wonderful chocolate crust, but it took more than 20 small cookies to soak up the margarine. I softened both the caramel and hot fudge for a minute in the microwave and used coffee and cookie dough ice creams with the caramel between; freezing between layers. For the top layer, I used a melon ball scoop and covered the whole pie with little cookie dough balls, then a pastry tube filled with Cool Whip piped over the entire top. Used softened hot fudge to write "Happy Birthday" over the Cool Whip, then lined up maraschino cherries with stems around the edge. It was an awesome "birthday cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This is such a great recipe! After reading other's reviews, I knew exactly how to customize this cake for my son's 12th b-day. For the crust; I crushed a 12oz pkg of chocolate covered mint square cookies, I used another pkg to ring the cake sides then into freezer for 20 min. I smoothed in creamy soft mint ice cream creating a 1/2" layer, then froze for 30 minutes. I crushed a pkg of Pepperidge mint sevilles and pressed onto the ice cream layer, then into the freezer for 15 min. For the the topping: I spread 3/4 of a 16oz container of thawed cool whip then drizzled chocolate syrup over the top. I pulled a toothpick through the syrup to create a heart design. Finally, I sprinkled chocolate mint sprinkles over the top, wrapped with foil and froze. until the next day. I precut slices hour's before serving at my son's b-day bbq. Using a springform pan gave such a beautiful presentation---this is easy to do and everyone will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Blue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This was really fun to make and cost a lot less than a store bought ice cream cake. I substituted a brownie crust instead of crushed cookies. I used a boxed brownie mix for a 13x9 pan and baked part of it in the springform pan and part in a bundt cake pan. After the brownie had cooled, I spread the jar of fudge on the springform brownie and cut up the bundt brownie into pretty wedges and formed the "edge" of the cake with them by placing them into the fudge and froze the cake overnight. The next day in the morning I filled half of the cake with Coffee Heath Bar ice cream and half cookies and cream, putting the pretty full scoops of ice cream on top and froze it again until my daughter's party. the cake was a huge success and everyone wants me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
A+++ recipe. I used chocolate creme filled Oreos and bought Dairy Queen soft serve for the 2 quarts of ice cream. I family declared the cake was better than Dairy Queen's....not to mention about $10 cheaper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Very easy to prepare ahead of time when company is coming. A great treat for those of us on diets!!! NOT!!! LOL! I used Hershey chocolate syrup and I soften all the ice cream and spread it out smooth. When serving - I drizzled more chocolate sauce over the top of each slice. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States