Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Great. . . I used cookies n cream ice cream and Oreo cookies instead. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These were so fun to make and eat! I made four ice cream cakes for a summer BBQ and everyone seemed to enjoy them. What is so fun about this recipe is you can make it different every time depending on what kind of ice cream or toppings you are craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flexitarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
definitely better than any dairy queen cake! i like to do 2 layers of ice cream with a layer of the crunchy cookie/fudge in between. i also let the ice cream soften and smooth the layers because i can't get nice looking scoops on the top! a choc/p.b. bottom with a vanilla/choc chunk on top is excellent with reese shell topping drizzled over the top! also did a chocomint version with choc i.c. on bottom, choc. chip mint i.c. on top. use mint oreos for the 2 crust layers on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a great recipe!! I used chewy chocolate chip cookies and cookie dough ice cream. Instead of putting whole cookies around the sides I just mashed up the whole package and melted it with 1/2 a cup of butter and built the crust up all the way up the sides of the pan. (I used a 9 inch pie pan). I tried to apply the fudge to the crust without heating it first and that didn't work so well, the fudge needs to be heated to spread it, but it still freezes on fine. Also instead of adding hot fudge before serving I put the fudge on while it was freezing and it tasted delicious. I was only able to freeze my cake for a few hours and I was worried applying hot fudge would melt the cake too quickly. This cake could be made so many different ways, I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is excellent!! People are so impressed by homemade ice cream cake! I used chocolate sandwich cookies instead of chocolate chips. A big hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
OMG sinfully delish! I used chocolate chip cookies with peanut butter chips,Butterfinger ice cream, hot fudge and caramel toppings. It only took one 1/2 gallon of ice cream to make and I poured the hot fudge and caramel over the crust, froze 15mins, put ice cream over that,froze 15mins, and poured more hot fudge and caramel over top and froze overnite.Before we ate it I put extra creamy cool whip on. This was for my bosses birthday and he shared it with our small class. Everyone LOVED it and it was moan out loud good! I will make over and over again and try different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAVENDERANGEL69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
super yum! we used cookie dough ice cream as per my niece's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadyelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday because he requested ice cream cake for his party. I didn't want to buy a cake, so this one looked good. I used a 9x13 glass pan because we had a party for 15+ people. It turned out great. Like other reviewers, everybody thought it was AMAZING! People literally said "tastes way better then Dairy Queen". My only change was to substitute oreos and I left out the chocolate syrup. I also doubled the recipe as I was using a bigger pan, and I made sure to liberally spray the bottom with PAM. It was perfect. Nothing stuck to the bottom and even the frozen cookies tasted great. I will make again. 10 X easier and 10 X cheaper then any store-bought substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I just made this today for my son's birthday and it is almost gone! I used crushed Oreos (25) on the bottom of the pan w/ the layer of hot fudge. After freezing that for 15 minutes, I used Peanut Butter Jumble (peanut butter ice cream w/ chunks of Reeses peanut butter cups). I then topped that with the hot fudge and the rest of the oreos crushed up. After I froze that for 30 minutes, I topped off w/ vanilla ice cream, the rest of the hot fudge, and caramel drizzle. I froze that overnight. Before serving, I decorated it with whipped cream and Reeses Pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sherri
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I made this for my daughter's 2nd birthday party. I used crushed oreos and cookies and cream ice cream for the bottom and vanilla for the top. I think next time I will do enough of the cookies and butter mixture to put a layer inbetween the ice cream layers. I also did the 2nd layer like the first by softening it. very good.. thanks for the recipe. Will definitely make again and try different varieties (ie. mint!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States