Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I have made this the last two years for my husband's birthday. I use oreo cookies and oreo cookie ice cream. I also buy a can of decorator icing and decorate it. Tastes and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I made a CMP (chocolate, marshmellow & peanuts) ice cream cake. So that I could transfer the finished cake to a nicer serving plate I did the following: used 10" spring form, lined the bottom of the pan w/ wax paper & then closed the form around it. Mixed oreos w/ butter for crust, then froze. Cut wax paper to line border of spring form (used PAM as glue, keeping the wax paper stuck to the side). Added hot fudge, froze, added marshmellow fluff (heated) & chopped peanuts, froze, added vanilla ice, froze & repeated the fudge/marshmellow/nut/ice cream layers. After last freezing, I used 2 spatulas to transfer the cake to a nice platter, peeled away the wax paper sides & "frosted" the sides w/ vanilla ice cream, so you couldn't see the layers & sprinkled nuts on top. Prior to serving, I added whipped cream & maraschino cherries on each pc & in center. My only complaint is that it melted fast once serving & turned into a huge mess. After reading more reviews, this could be because I used sugar free ice cream. I'm going to try it again w/ full fat/sugar/etc. coffee & chocolate ice creams!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I made this recipe for Father's day and it was a big hit. I used oreo's for the crust. Then mint chocolate chip ice cream then another layer of crushed oreo's more mint chip ice cream and surrounded the cake with Keebler's Mint Wafer cookies (similar to girl scout thin mints). Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Super recipe. We made this with Moose Tracks ice cream and used butter instead of margarine for the crust and it was fabulous - much better than the B&R's ice cream cake we had purchased for $20+ for the last birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This is just like a Dairy Queen.But only better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
great base & can really mix it up a lot w different flavors. i wanted to make a neoplitan one so i did an oreo crust, then the fudge topping spread over it (crust + topping was the best part!) - a layer of choc ice cream, a layer of homemade strawberry sauce (recipe on this site), layer of vanilla ice cream, choc frosting spread all over that, strawberry sauce on that, then little puffs of redi whip around edge & big puff in the middle. it was well-loved, but i learned that the strawberry sauce was a bad idea - frozen strawberries are REALLY cold & they just didn't work. next time i'll make the sauce to put on at the end. i was thinking a pretzel crust w a layer of peanut butter then chubby hubby ice cream might be delicious - will try that soon! i'm so glad i found the recipe - i know i'll use it lots. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
So easy - and EVERYONE - including all the adults loved it!!! I recommend using a premium ice cream, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Everyone loves this "ice cream pie"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Ladyviola
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great and versatile recipe. Everyone loved it. This will be a regular dessert in my house during the summer months. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by country-girl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I used Nutty Buddy cookie crumbs for the bottom layer and then placed the cookies around the springform pan.Then I layered chocolate syrup,Reeses ice cream made by Bryers,cool whip,chocolate syrup,and more crumbled up cookies.It was very good.This is a great recipe and you can change it to your liking.Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States