Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I'm the recipe submitter & wanted to clarify a few things so people are not disappointed. First, you cannot skip the freezing the cookie dough step...if you do, the dough WILL bake along w/the cake and be very dry. It's also imperative you don't overbake (or you'll get the same dry baked cookie results); I actually usually only bake about 16-18 min. I CAN'T STRESS ENOUGH, DO NOT OVER BAKE! It will seem like it's too early to take them out, but it's not. Check the outer ridge of the cupcake (otherwise you're getting the dough on your toothpick which should stay *wet*). These are great w/pretty much any cake flavor and can be made even easier by using prepared cookie dough (just don't skip the freezing step!). When I try a new chocolate chip cookie dough recipe (or even bake old favs), I always double it and freeze some cookie dough balls for future batches of these! I HAVE tried this as a cake, but have yet to perfect the cookie dough ball size/bake time...when I get it *right*, I'll add the dimensions/bake time to my review. THANKS, everyone, for trying (and rating and posting pics of!) my recipe! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2756 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I don't know what more I could add to nearly 100 other glowing reviews. So let me preface this by saying that on the rare occasions Hubs REALLY likes something he'll say it's so good he could eat it till he got sick. Having said that, I made and froze the cookie dough the day before, exactly as the recipe directs. The next day it was a breeze to get these in the oven and if you follow LTH's tips, these come out exactly as she says they will. I used a chocolate cake batter, a vanilla buttercream, and garnished with a mini chocolate chip cookie. Too cute. And the inside? A delightful, gooey, chocolate chip cookie dough surprise that Hubs' staff all loved. As for Hubs? I do believe he "made himself sick." Thanks for sharing your wonderful and creative cupcakes LTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
649 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
What a good idea- to put a cookie in a cupcake!!! I HAD to try this. But I used a chocolate fudge cake mix cuz I didn't have yellow mix on hand. And personally, I liked the contrast in color between the chocolate cupcake and the cookie dough inside. The only thing I would have to say about this is...next time I would use mini chocolate chips in the cookie dough. I bet you could also use those prepared "break & bake" cookies that they sell in the grocery store to save some time & effort. These came out yummmmmy! I dunked my cupcakes in chocolate ganache (1 cup choc chips & 1/2 cup heavy cream in a double boiler)...as if there wasn't enough choc in this recipe. Chocolate chip cookies in a cupcake covered with MORE chocolate- who could ask for anything more in a dessert?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Nobody I know likes vanilla cupcakes so I used devils food mix instead. I used premade cookie dough to save on time and cleanup and it worked great! Huge hit, loved by all, gobbled up immediately, and the kids (and adults) all had fun trying to guess what the surprise inside was. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
These were ok. Mine turned out a little dry and crumbley in the middle. They were good, but as my husband said "Good, but not worth the extra work". I made them with my 3 year old daughter and we had fun doing it. EDIT: Afer reading LTH reveiw I made them again. The first time I put them in the freezer but not long enough for them to freeze. This time I froze those little suckers rock hard and baked for no longer then 18 minutes. Let me tell you: A little extra work but SO worth it! Thank you for the reveiw LTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I am not sure if I did something wrong but I followed the directions to a tee and I was not impressed. The cupcakes were dry and I guess I hoped the cookie dough would stay more "doughish" but you could hardly tell it was cookie dough. It was more like a cupcake with some choc chips in the middle. Maybe I need to try them again but I was very disappointed this time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
WOW! Cupcakes and cookie dough - what a great combination! I brought these to a children's birthday party and amongst the ooh's and aah's and everyone asking "Who made these?", I couldn't help but smile. These are so easy to make, but I can't emphasize enough how important it is to follow the instuctions especially when it comes to freezing the cookie dough. These are awesome and I can't wait to try different cupcake and cookie dough combinations. The possibilites are endless! Thanks LTH for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Fabulous recipe, great combination. I made some buttercream for the top. I prefer to eat these when they are cool or cold. My picky husband loves them and I took them to a barbeque and everyone loved them there too! These are truly delicious! I am not sure why the previous person who rated this gave a bad review, it doesn't deserve it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I love to bake cupcakes and am always looking for a new recipe but this one turned out dry and you couldn't even tell there was cookie in it. Not a hit in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, including following Lovestohost's hints about freezing the cookie dough thoroughly and being very careful not to overbake. I topped them with a whipped chocolate buttercream. The result was a cupcake with a center of unbaked cookie dough, which I assume is the intent. I didn't love it, but I'm not going to rate it low because I think it's a matter of taste not the recipe failing. If you are a "cookie dough" sort of person you'll probably enjoy this. I didn't get a positive review from my husband and I thought they were just ok too. I'll take the rest to the office and they'll probably vanish in seconds though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 967) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States