Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I liked this bar. Of course, it was not as good as a regular chocolate chip cookie, but it had a nice shortbread quality that I enjoyed for a change, but would not want all the time. For the best shortbread taste you'd use all butter of course, but to save money I used half butter, half shortening and it still was nice and buttery. What I really appreciated about this recipe was the fact that it is egg-free, as my toddler son is allergic to egg. He enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is honestly the best bar cookie I've ever made!! Followed the recipe exacxtly (with the addition of a little more salt) and they were wonderful! They taste like a chocolate chip shortbread. I did not fill the 15x10 completely...so may be keeping these a little thicker was the key. They looked a little underdone when I pulled them out of the over...but let them sit there to cool and they set up perfectly!! A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I've tried many differant recipes for Choc Chips Cookie Bars, and so far these have been my favorite. (The only change I made in the recipe was using freshly ground wheat flour). Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I'm giving this four stars because I liked the fact that I was low on ingredients yet I was able to make these. I had everything it called for. It did however lack some flavor and were a little dry. I added one egg as suggested by a user. I used mini chocolate chips and those worked well in the bars. It just needed something else. My kids loved making them and were happy so that's what counts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking.in.MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We were all jonesin' for something sweet here tonight, and to my dismay I was limited on flour, had NO baking soda OR white sugar. This fit the bill perfectly. Had a lil' less flour than this recipe called for (just over 1.5 cups). Added two eggs, per suggestions. Baked at 325...for an eternity! (Close to 45 minutes) Oh, yeah: I also used a full bag o' semi-sweet choco chips. (Dropped some of 'em on the top before baking, for aesthetic). Easy and killed that "sweetie beast." Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I put 2 eggs in it and they came out DELICIOUS!!! everyone loved them. my mom said that they were not too sweet like the normal tollhouse cookie bars are. i guess because there's only one kind of sugar. i don't know they were excellent anyways!!! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I made the recipe as stated, but used a salt-free margarine. I wanted a cookie I could give my son who is allergic to dairy and eggs. The bars tasted good, but had a sort of grainy texture. I think that is part of the problem for other reviewers, too... I beat the dough for an extra few minutes to try to get it smoother. I think I may try using some honey in place of some of the brown sugar the next time I make these to add a little moisture to the dough so it holds together better. Also, I used a 13X9 glass pan and cooked them at 325F for 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very good, however pan size is WRONG!!!! Use 9 x 13...and add the extra egg... otherwise perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
There's nothing "wrong" with this recipe, but prepared as-is it's extremely dry and crumbly, more like shortbread. Which is fine, I like shortbread. But if you're looking for a chocolate chip cookie-like bar, this is not really the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this because I had no eggs and it was a little dry so I added 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt, It was so chewwy and yummy. Also cooked it for about 23 min in a glass dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *mrs. Farmer*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States