Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I gave a bar to my sister and my husband - both took a nibble, mumbled something about being full, and left the rest of their square on the table. They were dry, floury, and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I have to admit, they were very dry. I won't be making them again for a cookie treat or bar but crumbled up or under a scoop of ice cream, they're a quick ice cream topper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This cooks well and tastes alright, but it's rather dry and crumbly. The bar doesn't hold it's shape that well and would do better with more moist ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Easy to make, but quite tasteless. I think that if the recipe needs to be "tweeked" so much to make it edible, than perhaps a 1 star rating is what it deserves. I was mislead by the 3 star rating, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I made these cookies just as the recipies said- they turned out gooey, but MMMMmmm.............so delicious! Once they cooled, they were stilled gooey and scrumptious but not to messy to pick up. My sister also agreed they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
These cookie bars are really easy to make, but as other reviewers have said they are very dry. I added an egg and an extra tsp vanilla, but still dry. And too nutty! I would cut back the amount of pecans to at least 1/2 cup, maybe less. Overall, an easy to make bar with few ingredients. Good in a pinch if you have company coming over, but otherwise I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Mixture was dry and seemed to be missing something so I added 2 eggs. Used a smaller pan as well. Bars were OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I had planned to make this recipe and then got a little nervous when I read the reviews. But I had good results when I added one egg and 1/4 cup peanut butter. I then spread it in a 11 x 9 pan and baked at 325 for longer than the original. The bars are about 1 inch thick, and are moist and chewy--cookie-like--not sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
My daughter made this for a foods class assignment and it wasn't very good. Like the others have posted, it was bland and dry. I kept having her double check the recipe as I felt it had to be missing an egg or something...Don't think we will be making it again. I also agree the mixture was very thin in the pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
These were not very tasty at all and the mixture was way too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States