Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love these. They actually taste just like cookies instead of cake. I cut the recipe in half and spread in a 13x9. That is PLENTY for our family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This recipe was okay. I liked the fact that it called for ingredients I always have on hand and it was fast and easy. However, the bars lacked flavor. My husband flat out said they were NOT good. They're not the best cookie bars I've ever made. I wouldn't recommend this recipe based on flavor, but they were fast and easy! Also, FYI, the recipe doesn't need the egg other reviewers added. The mixture is supposed to be crumbly-the butter adds fat and oil for moisture-so you can press it in the pan like the recipe says. These are bars, not cookies, so the mix doesn't need to be cookie dough consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Montana, USA
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I made some changes and this recipe still didn't turn out so well. I added extra vanilla, 2 eggs and a 1/4 cup of white sugar and it tasted more like chocolate chip shortbread. I would decrease the amount of flour to 1.5 cups next time, add 2 eggs, 2 tsp vanilla and a little milk...but it might need more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Excellent! I did add one egg; 1 tsp baking soda; 1 tsp baking powder; and approx. 1/2 to 3/4 cup of quick oatmeal. So easy to make and cooked very evenly. I can't wait until my teenagers come home and try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I liked this bar. Of course, it was not as good as a regular chocolate chip cookie, but it had a nice shortbread quality that I enjoyed for a change, but would not want all the time. For the best shortbread taste you'd use all butter of course, but to save money I used half butter, half shortening and it still was nice and buttery. What I really appreciated about this recipe was the fact that it is egg-free, as my toddler son is allergic to egg. He enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This is honestly the best bar cookie I've ever made!! Followed the recipe exacxtly (with the addition of a little more salt) and they were wonderful! They taste like a chocolate chip shortbread. I did not fill the 15x10 completely...so may be keeping these a little thicker was the key. They looked a little underdone when I pulled them out of the over...but let them sit there to cool and they set up perfectly!! A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I've tried many differant recipes for Choc Chips Cookie Bars, and so far these have been my favorite. (The only change I made in the recipe was using freshly ground wheat flour). Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I'm giving this four stars because I liked the fact that I was low on ingredients yet I was able to make these. I had everything it called for. It did however lack some flavor and were a little dry. I added one egg as suggested by a user. I used mini chocolate chips and those worked well in the bars. It just needed something else. My kids loved making them and were happy so that's what counts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking.in.MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We were all jonesin' for something sweet here tonight, and to my dismay I was limited on flour, had NO baking soda OR white sugar. This fit the bill perfectly. Had a lil' less flour than this recipe called for (just over 1.5 cups). Added two eggs, per suggestions. Baked at 325...for an eternity! (Close to 45 minutes) Oh, yeah: I also used a full bag o' semi-sweet choco chips. (Dropped some of 'em on the top before baking, for aesthetic). Easy and killed that "sweetie beast." Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I put 2 eggs in it and they came out DELICIOUS!!! everyone loved them. my mom said that they were not too sweet like the normal tollhouse cookie bars are. i guess because there's only one kind of sugar. i don't know they were excellent anyways!!! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States