Chocolate Chip Coffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I'd been looking for a good coffee flavored cookie that wasn't chocolate and I think this is it. Soft and chewy, nice flavor, and easy. Like most people I made a few changes. I had forgotten my butter was frozen so I ended up melting most of it instead of just softening it. I used leftover brewed coffee from that morning instead of coffee liqueur, and free poured it. I don't know exactly how much I used but I am sure it was more than the recipe called for. Then I added more flour to make up for the extra liquid. I also didn't have many chocolate chips on hand so I added some butterscotch chips too. The result was a very cake like cookie. It was a little sweeter than I would like. That may be due to the butterscotch chips. Next time I will do only chocolate chips, and possibly decrease the white sugar a little. Overal this was a good cookie for when I have a craving for something coffee flavored or just a little bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dainaburger
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great idea made better by a few adjustments. I wanted to taste the coffee so I added 3 TBSP instant coffee and doubled the kahlua. I still can't taste the coffee, but it made for an interesting depth to the cookie flavor. I will add more instant coffee next time. It is still a really great chocolate chip cookie. Also the 3 C of chocolate chips was way too much for me. I only added 2 C and that still was way to many- couldn't even get them all incorporated into the dough. 1 C next time. The cinnamon was a real nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Love this recipe! All the people I've given the cookies to absolutely love them. Upon reading some of the comments, I added one extra tablespoon of the coffee liqueur and a bit more flour to the mix and that perfected it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great recipe! I didnt have the coffee liquor so i used 2 tablespoons of instant coffee in 1 tablespoon of water. I scooped my cookie dough into 3 tablespoon (each) balls and baked at 325 degrees for 18 minutes. Tip: Try too cook them all in once batch (if u can) cause I notice that the dough dries pretty quick which will produce a cookie ball instead of a flatter cookie. EDIT: I forgot to add that I used all whole wheat flour. But next time I make this I will use 2 cups whole wheat and 1 cup AP flour. Just cause I hate the taste of whole wheat and I could slightly taste the whole wheat so maybe with the 1 cup of AP flour I wont taste it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
tried this recipe out tonight. I used about two cups of semi sweet choc chips and only 1/2 cup of white sugar, as i dont like my cookies overly sweet. also i mixed in a tablespoon of instant coffee with eggs while beating and it gave a nice hint of coffee to compliment the chocolate flavor. next time i might add two tablespoons of instant coffee if i want a more pronounced flavor. will be making these again. I let them cook for 15 mins on convection and they were still tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe hoping for a good coffee flavor that just didn't happen. I didn't have the liqueur so I too added my leftover morning coffee, the cookies came out ok themselves, just a regular chocolate chip cookie, probably won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The cookies were awesome. We made a little twist to the recipe. At the very end, I added a 1/2 baking cocoa. Wow! My three kids, ages 25, 23, & 17 went crazy over them. Needless to say, I'm now baking my third batch in two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
A soft dough produced a soft and chewy cookie. From other reviews it seemed the coffee liqueur wasn't apparent anyway, so I thought I'd try another liqueur I don't use often - Tres Leches. Frankly, I don't know if it would make any difference to the cookie whether you used your liqueur of choice (Frangelico, Amaretto or Bailey's maybe?) or even just milk - or no liquid at all, for that matter, which would result in a sturdier dough. While maybe not my favorite, it is nonetheless a respectable chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Honestly best cookies I have ever made!! I don't use as much chocolate chips and I use a tablespoon more coffee liqueur!! Thank you to the person that posted this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made some minor changes. Instead of liqueur, I took two tablespoons of freshly, finely ground Ethiopian coffee and mixed it into 2 tablespoons of very hot water and let stand for a few minutes before adding to the batter mix, to bring out more of the coffee taste. I also supplemented the standard semi-sweet baking chocolate chips (not milk chocolate) with Ghirardelli's 60% Cacao baking chips but only used 2 cups of chips total. To my taste, this combination provided plenty of coffee as well as deep, chocolate flavor. I have taste-tested the results on three people so far and the results have been very flavorable. ;-) Will definitely make them again with different combinations of coffee and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States