Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I added the applesauce as suggested. I needed to bake an additional 5 minutes. I used mini chocolate chips. Great taste, easy to make. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Batter was too think to attempt layers, so I spooned all the batter into the pan, and sprinkled all the topping on top. To make sure it would adhere, I used a piece of waxed paper to push the topping into the cake before baking. Work out well, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Awesome. The batter was a little difficult to work with ,however, well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
i found it a bit sweet, so next time i would cut back on the sugar topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
My family was crazy about this cake! I used buttermilk instead of sour cream (which my daughter won't eat) and it was good, although a bit dry. I also did a little cocoa/powder sugar/milk glaze on top to honor a request from my daughter. It was a nice touch. I think I'll try the brown sugar in the topping next time. The overall chocolate/sugar taste was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
The flavor was wonderful, however I didn't think it looked all that pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I have made this cake twice now and they keep comin' back for more. And both times, I took the advice of other reviewers and added the half a cup of apple sauce, which makes the cake lovely and moist. I also divided the topping and swirled half of the mixture through the batter and the other half I put on top. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This coffee cake was a big hit with kids and adults. I substituted dark brown sugar for the white sugar in the chocolate mixture and it was very good. I pressed down the topping before I baked (based on other reviewer's feedback) and that helped it adhere to the crust. For the second layer of batter, I dropped it in teaspoons and then spread it. The cake itself is not too sweet and the cinnamon/chocolate combo was great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I baked this in a bundt pan and found that I would need to double the recipe to get a full size bundt. However, baking it that way ended up making it a "cookie dough" coffee cake because the filling was kind of gooey. This was a bonus - it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This recipe is quite good with some modifications. I used brown sugar instead of white in the chocolate chip mixture and added chopped walnuts. The cake was very moist; not dry like others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States