Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I knew that my kids would enjoy this one, and they did. My only problem was that there was not nearly enough batter to make 2 layers in this sized pan. The batter was barely enough to cover the bottom of the pan. So, I ended up putting it all in at once, sprinkling the streusel over, and then swirling it into the batter. It worked well enough. The batter is very moist and the cake turned out just fine doing it this way. In th future, I think I would use a smaller pan - maybe 11X7 or 9X9 to bake this in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
A wonderfully simple recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travel_Nut
Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was delicious. I messed up and added all of the sugar to the batter, so I improvised by mixing in a little brown sugar with cinnamon and chocolate chips. It was still wonderful. I doubled the batch and made three cakes in loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
With a half cup of applesauce added as other reviewers recommended, it was nearly PERFECT! My only complaint would be that it IS tough to layer the very think/sticky batter as directed, so when I make it again, I may just stir half of the choc. chip mixture into the batter, and sprinkle the rest on top, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
My husband and I absolutely loved it! It's got a wonderful Mexican chocolate flavor (chocolate+cinnamon). After reading reviews I made a couple alterations to improve the healthfulness and the moisture of the recipe: 1. Use 1/4 c canola oil plus 1/2 c unsweetened applesauce in place of 1/2 c butter. 2. Reduce sugar in batter to 1/2 cup. (The sweetness didn't suffer due to the natural sweetness of the applesauce.) 3. Use brown sugar for topping (could probably reduce some as well, but I didn't this time). I actually used dark brown, but I think light brown would be good too. 4. Use low-fat sour cream. I was able to spread 1 layer, sprinkle chocolate chip mix, then topped with second layer and choc chip mix as stated in directions. But I needed to gradually work the dough to spread the layers, almost like I would a pizza dough. I used an extra long spatula to divide the dough and do the spreading. It's not a big deal if you mix it all up instead, but I wanted the challenge of following the directions. :) My total bake time was 27-28 minutes. Hope these tips help someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made one change to this, using yoghurt in place of the sour cream. I did use the amounts as given in the recipe. Maybe it was the yoghurt but this cake turned out beautifully moist for me. I did end up baking it for an extra 10 minutes. Thanks Kerrilyn we really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I really enjoyed the cake. I decided to add a 1/3 a cup of Kahlua to the mixture. It gave it a bit more of a coffee flavour and made the mixture a bit easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Absolutly amazing! I also added 1/2 cup of applesauce as suggested by some and found it to be exactly what it needed. I made the mistake pf putting it in a too small of a pan so the center didnt cook, but the taste was so yummy i ended up eating the doughy part anyway. Even my very picky boyfriend is asking me when im going to make this again now that its gone. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathrynbrkroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I LOVE this coffeecake! It is absolutely yummylicious! :) I did make a few changes... i used about 2/3 cup of sugar in the batter, half white and half brown sugar. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon into the batter because i love the flavor. In the topping (which i, instead of layering, took to heart the suggestions of other reviewers and swirled half into the batter and sprinkled the remaining half on top) I used brown sugar instead of white and, this may sound strange, but i used carob chips instead of chocolate chips. This may sound weird but i personally loved it. And to all who don't go for the extremely sweet at breakfast (though don't get me wrong, I am an all-out chocolate lover!!!), you may like it too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States