Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great cake recipe. I changed a few things when making this myself though. I don't know how I feel about sour cream in choc. chip cake, so I eliminated that from my mix. I found the batter to be very dry, so I added water to it. I didn't exactly measure--I added water and judged based on the consistency for when it would be enough. I did find that the cake wasn't very sweet. It must have been the water that I added. When I make this cake again, I'll put extra sugar. Another change I made was mixing in the choc. chips in the batter, instead of having a separate layer in the middle, but I didn't include the extra sugar or cinnamon that was supposed to be in the center. Yet another alteration is less butter. I used 60% of what the recipe said. I didn't notice any less flavor (aside from the lack of sweetness from the water). Overall, I liked this recipe, just not how dry the mix was, and the extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made it so many times for my husband to take to work during the holidays that the guys were asking for it. It is great. I like it without the chocolate chips..j MHO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
this recipie was cooking in the oven for 2 1/2 hrs and the middle just would not cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Yum! This one is a great coffee cake! I find any cookie or cake with sour cream in it to be so moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This made for a delicious start to the morning, and was relatively easy to make. I agree, it is very good with a cup of hot tea! I'm giving this 3 stars instead of 4 because the batter was SO thick that it was difficult to spread. It took about as long for me to spread the batter evenly in the pan and then over the filling as it did to make the batter! The filling could do with a bit less chocolate chips as well - it was delicious, but VERY chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Delicious! I made this last night, and by the morning, there was one little piece left! I was a little worried when the cake batter was more like bread than cake. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Not as flavourful as I was expecting. I added the extra 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce but it still wasn't as moist as my usual sour cream coffeecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Made this for breakfast for my Sunday school class! They loved it! It was sugary and chocolatey...wonderful coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I knew that my kids would enjoy this one, and they did. My only problem was that there was not nearly enough batter to make 2 layers in this sized pan. The batter was barely enough to cover the bottom of the pan. So, I ended up putting it all in at once, sprinkling the streusel over, and then swirling it into the batter. It worked well enough. The batter is very moist and the cake turned out just fine doing it this way. In th future, I think I would use a smaller pan - maybe 11X7 or 9X9 to bake this in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
A wonderfully simple recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travel_Nut
Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States