Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I Love this cake. I have made it a few times. this time i halved the recipe & I substituted the sour cream with some applesauce (1/2c) and sweet cream coffee creamer/vanilla creamer(1/8c). So moist and delicious. cant even tell a difference. Oh and i used walnuts instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I took this to my MOP's group and it was a big hit. My husband who is very particular and doesn't really love cake also loved it. Because of the cinnamon and nutmeg there a little bit more dimension to it rather than just chocolate chip. I did leave out the pecans just because some people are picky about nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Because chocolate chips are one of my daughters favourite "food" in the world, she loved this cake! The house smells great when this cake is baking. I set my oven to 350 and began checking cake @ about 30 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was pretty well received. I thought it was a little dry, but I may have left it in the oven just a tad long. Nothing that popping it in the microwave for a couple seconds didn't fix, I loved it with the chocolate chips slightly melted. I did love the nutmeg flavor and thought it went nicely with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I LOVE this cake! The cake turns out tender and light, and the topping/filling is amazing! It's a bit of work to make, with the layering and all, but well worth it if you have a little extra time. I make mine in a 13 X 9 and it turns out great. Thanks for this recipe. I'll keep it for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My cake turned out really nice. I used a 9 inch springform pan. My baking time took almost an hour. I might raise the temperature closer to 350 next time. I cut the sugar down to 1 Cup in the batter and will try cutting out half the butter next cake. (I like a drier cake w my coffee) I thought the flavor of the cake was great and the batter was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This recipe is good but not great. It seemed as if the recipe didn't make enough dough/filling when you split in half. I had to make more topping for the top part. My husband liked it a lot but I thought it was kind-of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was very tasty! I liked it even better after it cooled. I didn't have the right ingredients so I used half sour cream and half plain yogurt. I do think that next time I'll just mix half of the topping in instead of layering it and then sprinkle the topping on and lightly push in the chocolate chips/nuts on the top. Also, I set my oven wrong (to 375) and cooked it for 35 mins and it was actually okay (i'm glad that it didn't burn) It was nice and brown and crispy like a cookie on top that way. Either way it was a hit!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States