Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was FABULOUS! My family of four devoured it, and by the second night, there was only a tad bit remaining. I used real butter and regular cream cheese (let it reach room temp...about an hour), and added a few more chocolate chips. I was skeptical as to whether or not it would set up. I had a perfectly sized deep bowl that I lined with saran wrap and formed the mixture to take the shape of the bowl, then smoothed out the top (which became the bottom). I left it in the fridge overnight and by the next day, it was perfect! I flipped the bowl over and it popped right out...shaped just like a cheese ball. I completely covered it in heath bits and scattered some milk chocolate morsels on it as well. Will definitely come back to this recipe. Served with honey and chocolate graham crackers. Great for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was good, but I wouldn't serve it as an appetizer again. I'd probably serve it as a dessert. I took it to a holiday party and only a third of it was eaten. I think it's just too sweet for most folks. It's basically a ball of chocolate chip frosting covered in nuts! Also, I served it with graham crackers and pretzels. I preferred the pretzels as did most others since there were far fewer of them left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this for a Christmas party and my friends loved it! I served it with square pretzels for a sweet and salty combo, and cinnamon graham crackers. To make it easier, I mixed everything together, put it in the center of plastic wrap, formed it into a ball, and set it in a small bowl in the fridge. After it was chilled and hardened a bit, it was much easier to roll into a ball and into the pecans. I made it as round as possible before I took it out of the plastic wrap. Easy cleanup too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious...but I rolled it in the remaining mini choc chips instead of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kees Osborne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made it as written with the exception of a cup of confectioner's sugar and 3 TBS of brown sugar as suggested by others. I did not have time to make a ball but left it as a dip. It was loved by all and a huge hit at my impromptu gathering. I don't think I will ever make it as a ball no need IMHO. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I got this recipe from a coworker a few years back. Its my go to thing when I need to make something for a party. Most times people aren't too sure about it at first but once they taste it, I almost never come home with any. I do it without the pecans cause I'm not a fan of those and I feel like its a bit risky with nut allergies. Normally just pour it into a bowl instead of making a ball out of it. Either way, this is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Check, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
We've made this for a few years but instead of chopped Pecans try rolling it in Skor bits..We always serve it with those flat chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I add raisins dan mix dried fruits in the mixture, and rolled them with crushed corn flakes before serving. It turns out very unique and not too bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have made this for years now. Lately I have been crushing up the cookie part of Oreos to put on the outside instead of pecans. I make it the night before I need it. Put plastic wrap in a big coffee mug and then put the mix in. Gives me the ball shape. Unthaw it for 15 minutes before I put the Oreo cookie crumble on the outside. Guests love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Tried to make easier using whipped cream cheese, bad idea. Could not form ball. However even my mistake got rave reviews. Split in half and sprinkled nuts on one and toffee bits on other. Everyone loved the toffee toppings over the nuts. Will be making again with Reg. cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 980) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States