Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I made this for Christmas Eve. I was disappointed! I added more brown sugar and less powdered sugar, as others suggested. In addition, I had a very hard time shaping this into anything resembling a ball. I did manage to get it into a round shape and added mini chips all over it. I served it with the graham cracker sticks. It looked pretty, however, my guests seemed to share my feelings and tastebuds, I had almost an entire plate left, that was thrown away. I'm glad I added more brown sugar, but even doing that it still tasted like cream cheese and butter to me. Definately will not make again. I would strongly recommend trying a half batch, if you're debating on giving this recipe a try. Thanks anyways, it did sound like it would be good. Sorry for a thumbs down, but any recipe I have to throw away, gets the thumbs down in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Coworkers LOVED this! They are men so I wasn't sure if this would be their type of recipe, but it was a hit. I personally will put in an entire cup of the powdered sugar for consistency and a little less cream cheese taste, maybe a little extra brown sugar. I am making it again for Christmas Eve though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I used reduced fat cream cheese and had some difficulity rolling into a ball, but the end product was still wonderful! Next time i will increase the brown sugar a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Took this to a Christmas party and everyone just loved it. Didn't have mini chips so I chopped up regular chips and was left with a powdery mess, but, this chocolate powder made the perfect coating with chopped almonds to roll the ball in. Definitely making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was a hit. Am making two more recipes for two more dinners. Only addition is that I toasted the pecans. Also used regular semi-sweet choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This is a great recipe and I can't wait to make it again. I did find that the longer it chilled in the fridge the firmer it got. It was still very soft after an hour. Next time I will plan for it a day ahead and let it chill overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Great taste, the second time I made it! Definitely don't use an electric mixer - makes it too soupy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Wonderful! Was a huge success. I didnt have any problem with making it into a ball shape. Will be making this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
made this last weekend for family get-together. Everyone loved it! I didn't have any trouble shaping it into a ball, and rolled it in the leftover chocolate chips instead of nuts. I was asked for the recipe several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
i've never had anyone turn this amazing dip away....Even people who "hate" cream cheese!!! I think it makes an excellent christmas mix gift!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States