Chocolate Chip Candy Cane Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are now my favorite holiday cookies. It took longer to bake as I wanted to make sure the meringue dried -- baked about 50 minutes. The secret is room temp eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Oh my goodness these are yummy! I followed the recipe to a "T" except for walnuts bc I didnt have any. I have only had meringue cookies once or twice growing up and I must say these are the best I have had. I made this today as a sort of preview for a recipe I had in mind for Christmas Eve to sort of just see how it came out and I will definately use it now. So simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These are delish! Someone made these for a Christmas party I went to and were a huge hit! Such an interesting texture and very different. Egg whites being at room temp and making sure no yolk sneaks in is crucial to achieving peaks easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was really good! I didn't put the walnuts in because my husband hates walnuts and I also sprinkled candycane on top to decorate the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My daughters' call these little pieces of heaven and they really are. I double the eggs (because 2 really are not enough - or they're using EXTREMELY large eggs that are not available at our local grocer), cut out the walnuts, use 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips and sprinkle a little of the remaining candy cane on top for show. We get about 50 heaping tablespoon sized treats from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Made this today...very, very good and perfect for the holidays! Didn't change a thing and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Wish I could have deducted half a star, only because there's no way that "heaping tablespoons" turns out to be 60 servings, but I definitely had plenty for a cookie exchange. I also replaced the walnuts with mini holiday M&Ms; HUGE hit at the party. Definitely recommend. (And because they're so sweet, I'd definitely err on the side of small cookies, versus "heaping." You can always eat two!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These are great! I made them as directed, but took another reviewer's advice and put some crushed candy cane on top. Very cute, easy and delicious!! The reviewer who said it took 40 minutes to beat the eggs and only made 15 cookies clearly must have done something wrong. It took me about 10 minutes to get to stiff peaks, and I got plenty of cookies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
An extremely good tasting cookie. A little more chewy then I would like. The chocolate and mint work well together and I liked how the candy cane melted into the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made these addictive cookies for the 2nd time, and once again they were a huge hit! I love them because they merge all of the flavors of several traditional Christmas cookie flavors into one cookie. You have candy cane crumbles, chocolate, and crushed walnuts (I toast mine for a richer nut flavor) all held together by a light, yet pasty, sugary meringue binder. For an extra festive touch, once I mixed all of the ingredients, I evenly divide the unbaked mix into two bowls and added red food color to one, and green to the other. 3 drops is all that is needed to turn these white cookies into holly jolly shades of red and green. I make them a bit bigger because I find it virtually impossible to measure 1 tsp of the sticky, chunky batter. I used a 1/2 TBSP to scoop out the dough, which required extra baking time. In some cases it took an extra 12 min., but the "dough" is very forgiving. If they don't release from the parchment cleanly and easily right out of the oven, that's a big hint that they need more time in the oven. I used a kitchen timer set by 5 min. increments. It also helps to let them cool a few minutes on the cookie sheet before removing, lest they fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States