Chocolate Chip Candy Cane Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was really good! I didn't put the walnuts in because my husband hates walnuts and I also sprinkled candycane on top to decorate the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Nummy! I've already been asked for the recipe by someone else. I skipped the walnuts. My cooking time was closer to 35 minutes rather than 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Oh my goodness these are yummy! I followed the recipe to a "T" except for walnuts bc I didnt have any. I have only had meringue cookies once or twice growing up and I must say these are the best I have had. I made this today as a sort of preview for a recipe I had in mind for Christmas Eve to sort of just see how it came out and I will definately use it now. So simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Very rich, but tasty. I like that they can be festive. I recommend making them small even though it says "heaping" spoonfuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Although the finished product turned out to be tasty, there should have been more detailed instructions, especially in the area of creating "stiff peaks" for the merengue. My 12-year old daughter chose this as a recipe to make for her Dad as a Christmas surprise because it has everything that he liked. It took us over 40 minutes to get the "Stiff peaks" to form and we did add the sugar "gradually". Plus, the recipes says it makes 60 cookies. We made 15. But, her Dad ate them with gusto and told her they were great, which is what really matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Everyone kind of picked other cookies instead of mine, but everyone who did try them loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These cookies were pretty good but kind of frustrating for me to make. I just couldnt get the batter to be as fluffy as I wanted and wasnt sure about the peaks. Wish there was more of an elaboration on that part of the recipe for those who arent use to dealing with meringue. I left out the walnuts cuz I didnt have em on hand. The cookies were good and I may make em again but nothing out of this world at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are now my favorite holiday cookies. It took longer to bake as I wanted to make sure the meringue dried -- baked about 50 minutes. The secret is room temp eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These are delish! Someone made these for a Christmas party I went to and were a huge hit! Such an interesting texture and very different. Egg whites being at room temp and making sure no yolk sneaks in is crucial to achieving peaks easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I made changes OF COURSE. I used the basic meringue recipe but used lemon extract instead of vanilla and lemon zest instead of candycanes/ choco chips. I added a touch of yellow food coloring and they were PERFECT. Sunny yellow, lemony, light and crisp. I baked them for 40 minutes and then let them sit out over night. 1 hr out of the oven they were a bit wet in the center but by the next day PERFECT. They certainly didn't make 60 cookies though. I got 1 cookie sheet of medium sized cookies, maybe 12-15. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States