Chocolate Chip Cake Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
These cookies are absolutely amazing! Everyone that I have made them for has ended up calling me later that day and asking for the recipe. It's so easy and takes less than 5 minutes prep and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. The only change I made was to add about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and I omitted the raisins. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This is such a great recipe because its so versatile. I used white cake mix, 1/2 cup white chocolate chips, and about a quarter cup coconut. I also used a little almond extract. My husbands favorite is chocolate mix with butterscotch chips. Ive also done yellow cake mix with semi sweet chips and crushed walnuts. All of them are great! I love experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very Yummy! I went exactly by this recipe but added 1/2 cup craisons instead of the full cup of chocolate chips. Very moist and loads of delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Krause

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I used a chocolate pudding in the mix cake mix. The cookies taste so good and it was super easy. I thought about omiting the raisons, but I left them in and I am glad I did. I added 1/4 cup of water (like another reviewer added water) and liked using slightly less dense batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
these are a snap to make...under 1 hour from start to finish. Are they Tollhouse?...no...but great for busy moms or when one just wants to whip up a batch to have for an evening snack, or kids home from school. I used a Pillsbury Golden Butter Recipe mix, only had a handful of raisins left, and added about 2 cups of chips of various sorts(toffee bits, chocolate, butterscotch, bittersweet chunks, peanut butter), and on the recommendation of another reviewer, added 1/3 cup more water for a cake-like cookie. After I mixed it up I thought the batter was a bit too loose, so I added about 1/4 cup more of oats and they were perfect. They don't spread much in the oven, it makes alot if using a smaller cookie scoop, and the taste is great! Nice and soft! Give them a try if you are in a hurry....you won't be dissapointed considering the time and ease. Tons of variation possibilities make this a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent Excellent Excellent, have I said these are Excellent. Sooooo easy to make, brought them to work, had to give the receipe to 3 people. We are making them today with a white cake mix and toffee pices and choch chips. Thanks a bunch for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I used applesauce instead of oil and devil's food cake mix. The cookies were very moist-all most like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
I used the peanut butter/pudding cake mix and I added walnuts. The cookies turned out moist and rich. I also used melted butter (I did not have veg. oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I make cake mix cookies all the time. You can use any flavor cake mix along with 2 eggs and 1/2 cup oil. You practically can't mess these up! I love butter pecan cake mixes or red velvet with cream cheese frosting! My husband likes a spice cake mix with a packet instant oatmeal, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 cup riasins. They seem to stay soft even without being sealed extra tight. My best advice, don't overbake them and you'll never go wrong. A great thing to experiment with, get the kid's involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Salo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York Mills, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe...it was super easy! I used a butter cake mix and substituted white chocolate chips and cranberries. I made three dozen and brought them to my work, they were gone in less than an hour. Bravo! I'll be looking forward to trying out new substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessdesalvo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States