Chocolate Chip Cake Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I make cake mix cookies all the time. You can use any flavor cake mix along with 2 eggs and 1/2 cup oil. You practically can't mess these up! I love butter pecan cake mixes or red velvet with cream cheese frosting! My husband likes a spice cake mix with a packet instant oatmeal, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 cup riasins. They seem to stay soft even without being sealed extra tight. My best advice, don't overbake them and you'll never go wrong. A great thing to experiment with, get the kid's involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Salo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York Mills, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I used applesauce instead of oil and devil's food cake mix. The cookies were very moist-all most like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
These cookies are absolutely amazing! Everyone that I have made them for has ended up calling me later that day and asking for the recipe. It's so easy and takes less than 5 minutes prep and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. The only change I made was to add about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and I omitted the raisins. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I loved this recipe...it was super easy! I used a butter cake mix and substituted white chocolate chips and cranberries. I made three dozen and brought them to my work, they were gone in less than an hour. Bravo! I'll be looking forward to trying out new substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessdesalvo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This is such a great recipe because its so versatile. I used white cake mix, 1/2 cup white chocolate chips, and about a quarter cup coconut. I also used a little almond extract. My husbands favorite is chocolate mix with butterscotch chips. Ive also done yellow cake mix with semi sweet chips and crushed walnuts. All of them are great! I love experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I used a chocolate pudding in the mix cake mix. The cookies taste so good and it was super easy. I thought about omiting the raisons, but I left them in and I am glad I did. I added 1/4 cup of water (like another reviewer added water) and liked using slightly less dense batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very Yummy! I went exactly by this recipe but added 1/2 cup craisons instead of the full cup of chocolate chips. Very moist and loads of delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Krause

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I used the chocolate cake mix for my first batch and they turned out great... added a little extra oil then what the recipe called for and I used a spice cake mix for the second batch. Fantastic. I will definately make again Stephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawkesbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent Excellent Excellent, have I said these are Excellent. Sooooo easy to make, brought them to work, had to give the receipe to 3 people. We are making them today with a white cake mix and toffee pices and choch chips. Thanks a bunch for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
I used the peanut butter/pudding cake mix and I added walnuts. The cookies turned out moist and rich. I also used melted butter (I did not have veg. oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States