Chocolate Chip Cake Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
I used applesauce instead of oil and devil's food cake mix. The cookies were very moist-all most like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
I used the peanut butter/pudding cake mix and I added walnuts. The cookies turned out moist and rich. I also used melted butter (I did not have veg. oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
A nice change from traditional chocolate chip cookies, and faster to prepare. I used regular yellow cake mix with pudding, and an entire package of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also added about 1/3 c water to make the dough less dense. This resulted in a more cake-like texture. My husband liked the raisins in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
These cookies are absolutely amazing! Everyone that I have made them for has ended up calling me later that day and asking for the recipe. It's so easy and takes less than 5 minutes prep and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. The only change I made was to add about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and I omitted the raisins. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I used a chocolate pudding in the mix cake mix. The cookies taste so good and it was super easy. I thought about omiting the raisons, but I left them in and I am glad I did. I added 1/4 cup of water (like another reviewer added water) and liked using slightly less dense batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
these are a snap to make...under 1 hour from start to finish. Are they Tollhouse?...no...but great for busy moms or when one just wants to whip up a batch to have for an evening snack, or kids home from school. I used a Pillsbury Golden Butter Recipe mix, only had a handful of raisins left, and added about 2 cups of chips of various sorts(toffee bits, chocolate, butterscotch, bittersweet chunks, peanut butter), and on the recommendation of another reviewer, added 1/3 cup more water for a cake-like cookie. After I mixed it up I thought the batter was a bit too loose, so I added about 1/4 cup more of oats and they were perfect. They don't spread much in the oven, it makes alot if using a smaller cookie scoop, and the taste is great! Nice and soft! Give them a try if you are in a hurry....you won't be dissapointed considering the time and ease. Tons of variation possibilities make this a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
It had to be me! These did not work out for me.I used a golden butter w/pudding mix, 2 cups of semi-sweet chips, oats, raisins, and a little extra water for a more cake like cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I make cake mix cookies all the time. You can use any flavor cake mix along with 2 eggs and 1/2 cup oil. You practically can't mess these up! I love butter pecan cake mixes or red velvet with cream cheese frosting! My husband likes a spice cake mix with a packet instant oatmeal, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 cup riasins. They seem to stay soft even without being sealed extra tight. My best advice, don't overbake them and you'll never go wrong. A great thing to experiment with, get the kid's involved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime Salo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York Mills, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
chewy....but good and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
We LOVED these! So yummy! I omitted the raisins, reduced the oil to 1/3 cup, and added a few dashes of almond extract and vanilla, just for an enhancement even though you can't really taste it, but it gives it a little "something extra". Fast, Easy and Delicous! The perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States