Chocolate Chip Cake Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I had to make a batch of cookies in a hurry so decided on this one. I have never used a cake mix for cookies as I have always felt a cake is a cake and cookies are cookies, both making from scratch whenever possible. Having said that....they did taste better than I expected and although I may not use this method as my absolute go to, I definitely would in a pinch. I used a Devil's Food (with pudding in mix) and mini Hershey baking kisses in place of the chocolate chips. Other than that everything was per recipe. Recipe yielded 45 cookies on the small to medium size for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
As far as cake mix cookies go, these are about as good as they get. (I intended to eat one for reviewing purposes and ate two instead) As I always do with other similar cake mix cookie recipes, I swapped out the oil for butter and still added another 2 T. of oil. I also added a teaspoon each of chocolate and vanilla extracts. The stir-ins, I'm sure the submitter would agree, are so versatile - clean out your cabinets of odds and ends I say! In this case I did use the raisins, but I threw in a couple of handfuls of "bottom of the box" Rice Krispies for the oatmeal, and about half a bag of mini M&Ms for the mini chocolate chips. After chilling the dough about an hour, I made them a little bigger than specified using a small scoop, flattened them slightly, and baked them JUST until set, about 12 minutes. They turn out soft, chewy and uniformly round. And pretty darned good. And, at least with this chocolate version, you don't detect that "cake mix taste."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is a WONDERFUL go to recipe. I've made different variations. So far, friends and family like lemon cake mix and white chocolate chips. I LOVED using sugar free chocolate cake mix and sugar free chocolate chips. You can always use egg substitute and applesauce to cut even more calories. My mom is diabetic and this was a treat for her. Thanks again for this easy, go to, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph7271

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
i am giving 4 stars for the nice idea, i wasnt impressed by the tast, felt no differnce from the cake, the look of these cookies wasnt really attractive, but for a chocolate lover this is a hit. Thanks though for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are like brownies, if you use devils food cake mix, but it allows you to make a few at a time rather than a whole pan. These are great because for one thing, they mix up in about 5 min. if that. And good and chocolate-y. I added walnuts instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Great recipe! Perfect when you just want to make a couple dozen cookies without a great big mess. I made these with chocolate cake mix, craisins, and mini chocolate chips. They were very sweet! You could use any type of cake mix with complimenting mix-ins. I drizzled pink frosting in stripes across the top and used pink and red sprinkles to make them look more fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
As is written it is 2 stars; adjusted it is 5 stars. I baked the first batch 10 minutes and because there were warnings to not overbake, I took them out of the oven. Even after they cooled they could be rolled up in dough balls. I baked the next batch 15 minutes and they were perfect and quite good. I like them mae with dried cranberries and white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I subbed in walnuts instead of raisins but other than that I followed it exactly. They were quite yummy and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These were very good, I made large cookies for a bake sale and they turned out beautiful.I got about a dozen per batch due to the size of the cookies I made. I omitted the raisins because I just don't like raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Great recipe for the not-so-great bakers out there. Super easy, I made two batches (produced 120 stone-sized cookies) and brought them into work after frosting with fall colors for the first day of autumn. They were a hit and I love them because they stayed soft! I omitted the raisins, and next time I may omit the chocolate chips (although they were tasty with-I prefer plain cookies). Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States