Chocolate Chip Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
My husband loves it. I have sent tis recipe to many friends. To make it lower in fat I substituted skim milk, 2 egg whites & lower fat margarine. I also use the basic recipe & substitue nuts & raisons for chocoloate chips. Thank you Thankyou. Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Few things I did different - I forgot to add the chocolate chips in last and added them with the wet ingredients so it turned the whole dough a chocolate brown and also made it too wet so I added more flour. I let the bread machine do the kneading but took it out for the bake cycle and added some more chocolate chips. It just came out of the oven (32 minutes at 350) and we had melty double chocolatey bread - mmmmm!! I also used 2 tblsp. vegetable oil instead of the butter because I didn't have the butter. It does have a very subtle but definently there cinnamon flavor, it almost should be called Cinammon Chocolate Chip Bread, except that I'm not a big cinnamon fan and I love this bread so that name would probably have turned me off. Next time I would wait to put the chocolate chips in - the chocolate bread is good but I think I used close to 2 cups of chocolate chips, too much to be anywhere near good for you. I would still bake it in the oven, but I would let it cool in the pan instead of taking it out right away so that we would get chocolate chips instead of a chocolate ribbon. Definently will be making again when I'm craving something chocolatey and sweet and don't have the butter to make cookies :) ! Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Excellent recipe! I substituted vanilla for the cinnamon and used white chocolate chips. I used the fruit/nut setting on my machine with light crust and it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is a real good bread that isn't too sweet or heavy in fat, but has a nice chocolate flavor. I've made it many times and eat it as a desert bread with butter, heated or toasted. Good one, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe although I did a few things differently. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and followed the ingredients list exactly, keeping the chocolate chips in the refrigerator to keep them cold and prevent melting. On the advice of other reviewers I did not put them in during the "add in" beeper. I let the dough finish the full dough cycle in the machine, then took it out and divided into three loaves for my small loaf pans. I kneaded the cold chocolate chips into the three loaves (this was tricky as the chips did not want to "stick" in the dough evenly, but with some patience you can do it). I let the loaves rise for another 45 minutes or so, then baked at 350* in my oven for about 30 minutes. Wow!!! The chocolate chips were perfectly placed and the bread was delicious! I think it's best warm straight out of the oven. This was a big hit in my house and I will definitely be making it again! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Followed the recipie but used frozen chips and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Great bread. Perfect texture, soft with chips swirled through. Don't add chips until 2nd kneading. I actually used 3/4 cup mini chips and 3/4 cup regular semi-sweet. We love chocolate! Just needs a pinch of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I cannot BELIEVE how great this turned out!!! Amazing!!!! I didn't even use bread flour, I used regular, and it still came out fantastic. I froze the chips just like the others suggested, and it worked out beautifully. It was GONE in one day! So good! Next time I will add a bit more chocolate chips, or some dried cranberries. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This bread is great! I added 1 cup of coconut flakes and it was to die for. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I would make this again just for the heavenly smell of it when it bakes! I froze my chocolate chips and added them by hand (after the mixing cycle of my bread machine, then put it right back into the bread machine). what a special bread! I did it without cinnamon just to have the pure chocolate flavor, but I will try it with cinnamon next time. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States