Chocolate Chip Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Be careful if your bread maker's "add fruits and nuts" beep rings early! Mine does, and thus the machine was too hot and melted all the chocolate chips. The resulting chocolate bread was very delicious so I am definitely willing to try this again. If it doesn't work out again and I get no chocholate CHIPS, the resulting bread is still so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
Kids love the chocolatey taste, but, the bread doesn't seem to rise the same as others. The chips don't seem to spread through the bread evenly either. Pretty easy to make though. Will definitely try it again, using my other bread machine to see if it makes a difference in the rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
This is a great bread for anyone desiring a bit of chocolate to satify a sweet tooth. The kids like it and the moms in my neighborhood say,"I could eat the whole loaf by myself".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
I made this for my family, and my mother liked it very much. My young sister, however, disliked it and said that it was 'too bland'. I enjoyed it, but next time, I'd wait until after the add-in beeper to put the chips in because the beeper went off too early and all the chips melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Just baked this and I like it a lot (the kids love it too!). Some variations: I used low-fat UHT milk. Kids don't like cinnamon so I substituted with pure cocoa powder instead. Also added a bit of bread softener/improver. Result is a sweet, soft and very fluffy bread with good crust (I used dark setting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This bread is wonderful! Turned out perfectly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This bread was enjoyed by my family very much. Has a great flavor and texture. I baked it 15 minutes less than bread machine called for and it turned out perfectly. I did not add the chocolate chips but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
We love this one!! Compared to the other recipe which uses twice the butter but less 1 tbsp of brown sugar and yeast, I think this one has the more spot on measurements. I have no bread machine so I did the kneading on my KA. I let it rise 3 times, and my bread baked up so high and fluffy. I had to use 1 cup more flour, but that is because our weather here is so humid. Baked it in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. I added a little cocoa powder in place of the cinnamon, and will increase the cocoa to 1tbsp because we love chocolate here. Mmm. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
so good and so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This came out really nice, smelled wonderful! But the chocolate chips melted completely into the loaf and I do have a fruit/nut beeper. I was thinking that maybe if you put the chips in frozen? Hard to say but a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States