Chocolate Chip Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Delicious!! I made a few changes to up the nutritional value. Subbed whole wheat flour for all purpose and subbed low fat sour cream for oil. I was out of white sugar so used brown sugar. I took someone's advice and added a bit of vanilla and crushed the bran flakes for a more consistent texture. I also used two cups skim milk with 2 Tbs lemon juice (homemade buttermilk without the fat) in place of the actual buttermilk. Amazing!! Still very tasty, and "dessert" tasting with the changes. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very tasty and easy. Light peanut butter flavor. Very moist. I didn't have buttermilk so subbed in plain kefir. Also subbed in 1/2 cup of whole wheat pastry flour just to try it out. Great recipe. A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Nice, moist muffins. My only criticism is (like others said) they could be sweeter. I may try adding more sugar next time. I didn't have rolled oats on hand so I added an extra 1/3 cup of flour and an extra cup of bran flakes and it worked great! Also, I cut back on the oil and a bit of the sugar and added about an 1/8 cup of honey. I would def. make again and maybe experiment with tossing in some fruit and nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I had to take out the peanut butter so I could send these to school with my children for lunch (they attend a peanut-aware school and are not permitted to bring peanut products). I substituted one cup of pumpkin instead. Mashed bananas would probably also work. I really liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is one recipe that will please them all. ... here are my variations... I used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of white... 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of sour cream in place of the buttermilk... and used white whole wheat flour. Also used Raisin Bran (slightly crushed). Everybody from 1 1/2 yrs. old to 90 year old loved them... Stupid dog even ate a couple off the counter while they were cooling... hahaha! Definitely a great recipe... Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDYANDY6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy Thrill
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
very good! used wheat flour, subbed applesauce for oil, and i used half butterscotch and half chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Excellent and very moist, will make again.. For healthier version used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda.. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I am disappointed in these. I think I was expecting too much. The first batch was still wet in the center at 14 minutes but burnt by 17. The second batch looks better, ( I lowered the temp to 350 for 17 minutes). I prefer bran muffins with a heartier texture. The batter reminded me of plain flour muffins with a bit of bran flecks. Do not get me wrong...I ate three, but I do not think I will use this particular recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious straight from the oven, a bit dry once cooled. This may be due to using oat bran rather than bran flake cereal. We decreased the oat bran the 2nd time and they were still delicious warm but a little dry cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are very good! I'll add my substitutions to the conversation...I tried to make them a little healthier and get rid of some of the fat and cholesterol. I used applesause instead of oil; I replaced the 2 eggs with 1 ripe banana and 1/2 tsp. of baking powder; I also used 1 cup of whole wheat flour in place of 1 cup of the all purpose; I added 1 tsp of vanilla on the advice from another review. I didn't have enough bran flakes (about 3 cups instead of 4 1/2), but that didn't seem to matter; I also blended the flakes with my Magic Bullet and added them to the dry ingredients, instead of folding them in afterwards. I made 1/2 of my muffins without the chocolate chips, and the rest with them (used 1/2 cup instead of a whole one); both turned out wonderfully moist and not the least bit crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States