Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Super moist banana bread! I have made it twice now and both times it came out utterly delicious. Don't omit the mayo, it makes it so moist and you can't even tell it's there. The only change I made was to sub half the shortening for butter, and add a tsp of vanilla extract. It's now my go-to banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I have never liked the idea of chocolate and bananas, but I really wrong. This really works and was loved by all whom ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Excellent. I made it as directed except used white whole wheat flour, and instead of the one cup shortening I used 1/2 cup butter and added one extra banana (so 7 bananas total--I had a lot of them!). It was fantastic. Very rich and moist and did not taste "low-fat" at all, but also didn't have that greasiness that some banana breads have. I took it to work and people raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is amazing! I omitted the nuts and added 1 cup frozen blackberries. I made one loaf and 12 muffins and ALL were gone by the next day. Very moist on the inside and crispy tops. Will defiantly be making this again and again. Thanks for the recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
OMG... Best banana bread I have ever made. Like many others I used butter instead of shortening. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, otherwise I followed the recipe.. Made a dozen muffins and 50 mini muffins. Due to the mini muffins I did use the mini chocolate chips. Omg... yummmmm. I gave some to friends and they all asked for the recipe. Cant wait for my next bunch of bananas to expire. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Orting, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Banana Bread was fabulous. Very moist and flavorful. The only thing I did different was I put 1 tablespoon of mayo and 1 tablespoon of sour cream. So good. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I will admit my sins upfront: I halved the recipe, used 4 way way overripe bananas, added 1/2 tsp of vanilla, used half white and half brown sugar, and used salted butter because that's all I had. I also used white chips because I was out of chocolate chips. This made 24 mini muffins and I filled the cups full. They puffed up nicely, plus I still had a bit of batter leftover (which I tossed, didn't want to mess with it). Anyway, these are really tasty! Not overly sweet, moist, not too banana-y. I want to try these again and add some cinnamon and/or nutmeg, because for some reason it seems to be lacking .... I don't know...something. I want to add, I've never made banana bread before. When I added my mashed bananas, the mixture looked almost curdled. If anyone else sees that, don't worry, everything turns out fine. It just looks gross for a minute. This is a really easy recipe, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is my go to banana bread recipe and it never disappoints! I have been making it for about 1 year and it is amazing every time! So moist and flavourful! The changes I made: 2 teaspoons of milk, instead of mayo (too scared to try it with mayo), butter instead of shortening, no nuts (so add about another 1/4 cup of chocolate chips) and some 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the wet mix and cinnamon and nutmeg to the dry mix. I've deleted my other banana bread recipes because this one's just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
1 cup of butter works instead of the shortening! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried the recipe and did as the reviewer suggested, swapped the shortening for butter. It was such a moist & delicious cake. Big hit with our family. Bake & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micri00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States