Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This bread was SOOO good, be it for breakfast, a snack, or dessert! I substituted 1 cup of white sugar for 1 cup of brown sugar, and instead of shortening I used butter. I also added 1 TBL of vanilla extract. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I make this all the time and bring it in to work and people go crazy for it! Great recipe. I followed the suggestion of the first review and substituted butter for the shortening and added 1 cup brown and 1 cup white sugar. It turns out phenomenal every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I liked the concept but I found it too dense and not enough sweetness. Granted, I did not add the chocolate chips but I am comaring this to another recipe by Kraft that uses Splenda. It was worth the effort to try something new
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
It was really good! I added a teaspoon of vanilla and some cinnamon, like others suggested and used butter instead of shortening- and it was yummy! very moist and light. I had only half of the semi-sweet chocolate chips called for so I substituted with white chocolate chips. Was concerned it would be too sweet but it was great! One tip, sift the dry ingredients because I didn't and bit into a chunk of baking soda (bleh!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Wow.. not sure what the mayo does to make it so moist, but it't terrific! I followed the suggestion to go with butter and 1/2 brown sugar/1/2 white... it did take a full 60 minutes to cook. I also tossed the choc chips in flour and they were well spread out through the bread. Will put this in favorites for SURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
this recipe was FANTASTIC!!!!! i did exactly what it called for, and it is moist, sweet, and ive got many compliments from it!! after the bread was done, i took it out of the oven, i spread butter along the top of the bread, allowing it to soke into the bread! try it, it works very well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I've never rated anything on this before, but this banana bread is so good, I have to. Moist, rich, delicious, mmm mmm... Using a 10" round cake pan works well with the quantity as well, in case you don't have 2 9x5 pans (like me). Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This is one awesome recipe.. My family raves about it.. My mum has started buying more bananas than we could eat up before it gets overripe coz she knows if it goes beyond ripe it's gonna be used for Banana bread that she loves instead of going waste. My aunts have requested this several times over... Try it.. U won't regret!! & I don't change anything about it except subbing butter for the shortening just because I don't use shortening..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
The BEST banana bread I've ever had. I substituted butter instead of shortening and I made these into muffins instead of a loaf. They are extremely moist and everyone I make them for loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was some delicious bread. I only had 4 bananas and wish I had two more, but it worked. I used a bundt pan for about 70 minutes - part of it crumbled when I flipped it over to cool, so I probably should have waited a little more before I turned it over. I added a little cinnamon and vanilla to the mix and left out he walnuts. After spraying the pan, I mixed about a tsp of sugar with some vanilla and shook it around in the pan to create a light, sugary outing. I took a reviewers' advice to lightly coat the chocolate chips with flour to make them from sinking to the bottom. Overall, very yummy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States