Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Oh my! I have made about a billion different banana bread recipes, and I can say that this is definitely my new favorite. I used half brown and half white sugar, half margarine and half applesauce, fat free mayo, and only five bananas. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My 7 and 15 year old daughter just baked this and it was very easy for them to follow. They were hesitant about the mayo but added it anyways. It turned out delicious. Very yummy. I'm sure they'll be baking this for Grandma and Aunties!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Love this bread! I make a few changes, but otherwise it's fantastic as written: I used butter instead of shortening, half brown sugar and half white, added 1 tsp vanilla, and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I've also used half milk chocolate chips one time because it was what I had in the pantry - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made only 1/2 the recipe, and used 6 king muffins instead of a loaf pan. Substituted the shortening with butter. Followed the recipe but I added the walnut on top on the muffins just before baking them for 45 minutes. It was amazing! The muffins were very moist and the walnuts were slightly crunchy. This is a must-keep recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious!!! The absolute best banana bread I have ever made. My 18 yo son agrees. I always freeze my ripe bananas. When thawed they mash so easily. Also, I instead of loaf pan I baked mine in muffin tins (makes 2 dozen plus) at 350 for 25-30 minutes. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Cole Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Amazing! Took the advice of others and changed the shortening to butter. Added a little vanilla and cinnamon. Not a lot. My new favorite banana bread recipe. I never would have thought to put chocolate chips or mayo. My husband even wrinkled his nose at both but LOVED it! YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I have made these SO many times and just have not reviewed yet. These are AMAZING. I usually put mine in oiled muffin tins which makes it easier for the little hands to just grab one as a quick snack. Absolutely fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Marshall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Guernsey, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This comes out really good for those that like chocolate chips added to Banana Bread. It is moist and keeps for weeks in the fridge too. I grease and then dust the pan with cocoa instead of flour and it comes out with an added zing to the loaf. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This seriously is a really delicious recipe! I used butter instead of shortening just like the majority of the other reviewers and actually only had four really ripened bananas. It was actually perfect. I always use Ghirardelli semisweet chips for baking and wasn't overpowering at all. It was all a perfect balance and seriously the best banana chocolate bread ever, and trust me, I've had my share of banana chocolate walnut breads in my life. I wouldn't even know how to make this recipe any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisol Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this bread so many times, and always received great reviews. I had to cook it a bit longer a few times, but only because the oven I was using was not consistent. Amazing bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States