Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This seriously is a really delicious recipe! I used butter instead of shortening just like the majority of the other reviewers and actually only had four really ripened bananas. It was actually perfect. I always use Ghirardelli semisweet chips for baking and wasn't overpowering at all. It was all a perfect balance and seriously the best banana chocolate bread ever, and trust me, I've had my share of banana chocolate walnut breads in my life. I wouldn't even know how to make this recipe any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this bread so many times, and always received great reviews. I had to cook it a bit longer a few times, but only because the oven I was using was not consistent. Amazing bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I really only used this as a base because I really wanted to try the prune for fat substitution. So instead of shortenting I used prune puree and it turned out AMAZING. Best chocolate banana bread I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This bread is the BEES KNEES! I made this for the second time tonight and the wolf pack at my house is already drooling at the mouth. Deliciously sinful, OMG. Keeper for like ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This chocolate chip banana bread is downright delicious. I made it exactly as the recipe said--although I hesitated on using the shortening... It was a great success! The bread was very, very moist (...probably from all the shortening, haha). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie4EVA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Wow....this was so good....my family and I loved it. Halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening, low fat mayo and mini chocolate chips. Wonderful and very moist on the inside with a nice crust on the outside. A perfect bread. Never used mayo in baked goods before and you would never know except it adds to the moistness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made the bread with butter instead of shortening and omitted the walnuts. The bread was so moist but it seemed like the chocolate overpowered the taste of the banana. I would definitely use this recipe again to make regular banana bread and I know it would taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is a very tasty recipe. A quick and easy batter to assemble, my 4 year old granddaughter helped to prepare the batter. I did change a few ingredients. I substituted butter for the shortening and I used 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I love nuts, but left them out this time. I may play with the sugar combo some more, but otherwise, I will leave it as is. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I do not normally bake things, but this came out perfect. I used butter instead of shortening and it worked just fine. Moist but not too moist; very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violinstringer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Great Great Great. People who don't typically like banana bread said they loved this bread. People who claimed they don't usually like chocolate loved this bread. I couldn't find anyone who doesn't usually like bread so I just imagine everyone will like this stuff. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States