Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Didn't quite follow the recipe as stated but the modifications didn't affect the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treesap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is the best banana recipe I have found if you want a moist bread. I used butter instead of the shortening and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is good, but I'm not sure it is better than the others I've made that didn't have the mayonnaise or shortening in it. But definitely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Made this yesterday, one loaf is gone already, its really good. Im not usually a fan of banana bread but the chocolate chips changed my mind. I added an extra 1/2 cup of chips and accidently added an extra tsp of baking powder but it was fine. I will definately make this again, thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a wonderful starter recipe. You can make changes for your taste and it still comes out yummo! Instead of shortening, I followed the advice of other reviewers and used butter, unsalted. But I only used half a cup and substituted the other half cup with unsweetened applesauce. I used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup brown splenda in replace of sugar. I added a teaspoon of vanilla. I must say, I did add a cup of chips, but I think it was too much. Making more today and I'm going to bump the amount of chips down to 3/4 cup. I baked mine in mini loaves and a muffin pan until they were golden brown, roughly 20 minutes. Came out perfect! They didnt fall apart or crumble. Its only been 2 days and 18 servings of it are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook Wilkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Wow - so good! I am not sure how 2 tbsp of mayo made such a difference, but it did... I substituted butter for the shortening, and added 2 tsp of cinnamon, but other than that made just as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is the same way I make my banana bread except I add vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg (weird to not have them in there) and butter instead of shortning and I'm really wondering if the mayo is nessisary. I would have to say I love the addition of the cocolate chips and nice hint on dusting them with flour so they don't sink to the bottom. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This bread is amazing! Absolutely delicious. I have been searching for the perfect banana bread recipe and I have finally found it. I tried a recipe with just shortening, and it came out too dense; I tried a recipe with sour cream and it came out sort of mushy; the secret with this recipe is the tiny bit of mayo and it makes all the difference in the world! I didn't change a thing in this recipe, besides cutting it in 1/3 because I only had two bananas. What a mistake! The entire loaf went so quickly among my friends and family that I was left wishing I had made the other two pans. This recipe is a definite winner and I will be using it several more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is a keeper, I made it for several people and all loved it. I made one change, and that is I used 1 cup of brown sugar and one cup of white sugar. It is FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States