Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a wonderful starter recipe. You can make changes for your taste and it still comes out yummo! Instead of shortening, I followed the advice of other reviewers and used butter, unsalted. But I only used half a cup and substituted the other half cup with unsweetened applesauce. I used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup brown splenda in replace of sugar. I added a teaspoon of vanilla. I must say, I did add a cup of chips, but I think it was too much. Making more today and I'm going to bump the amount of chips down to 3/4 cup. I baked mine in mini loaves and a muffin pan until they were golden brown, roughly 20 minutes. Came out perfect! They didnt fall apart or crumble. Its only been 2 days and 18 servings of it are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook Wilkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Wow - so good! I am not sure how 2 tbsp of mayo made such a difference, but it did... I substituted butter for the shortening, and added 2 tsp of cinnamon, but other than that made just as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is the same way I make my banana bread except I add vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg (weird to not have them in there) and butter instead of shortning and I'm really wondering if the mayo is nessisary. I would have to say I love the addition of the cocolate chips and nice hint on dusting them with flour so they don't sink to the bottom. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This bread is amazing! Absolutely delicious. I have been searching for the perfect banana bread recipe and I have finally found it. I tried a recipe with just shortening, and it came out too dense; I tried a recipe with sour cream and it came out sort of mushy; the secret with this recipe is the tiny bit of mayo and it makes all the difference in the world! I didn't change a thing in this recipe, besides cutting it in 1/3 because I only had two bananas. What a mistake! The entire loaf went so quickly among my friends and family that I was left wishing I had made the other two pans. This recipe is a definite winner and I will be using it several more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is a keeper, I made it for several people and all loved it. I made one change, and that is I used 1 cup of brown sugar and one cup of white sugar. It is FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Sooooo good!!! Laminating this recipe! I added a little extra flour to thicken it up as someone else suggested. I also sprayed the inside of the pan then coated with sugar as someone else suggested and it added a great crunchy little crust to the outside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This recipe was fantastic, I did add a little twist to it though, I topped it with a little bit of vanilla frosting, which gave it the perfect amount of sweetness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HolidayFun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Absolutely amazing!!! We don't eat nuts(allergy) I didn't have chocolate chips. It was still absolutely delish. I made mini cupcake size. They are a great for my kids...(and husband) Who are devouring them. I use this website for all my meals. I had to become a member today because I wanted to thank you for such a great recipie. Definitely saved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
So good! I found this as a result of looking for the Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake sold at Starbucks. This is even better. If you add an extra 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and bake for an extra 5 minutes it's phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thing2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States