Chocolate Chip Apricot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is a tasty recipe but it definitely needs some tweaking. I added the extra 1/8 cup of flour as suggested by other reviewers but I really don't think it was required as the batter was a bit too firm and the cookies didn't spread at all while baking. Also, I didn't have any turbinado sugar so I opted to use only the 1/2 cup of brown sugar. The cookies were sweet enough with using only half the amount of sugar called for and I think would have been far too sweet using the full cup. Also, this recipe doesn't make very many cookies - I got less than 2 1/2 dozen, so beware if you're looking for a larger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This cookie was delicious!! The combination of the dried apricot and chocolate chip is so unique!! I did use less of the chocolate chip (only half of a cup, Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chip)and Mariana Brand for the dried apricot (also only half of a cup). I cut the dried apricot into very small cubes. This dried apricot was delicious, it was moist, flavorful, and fresh tasting. The cookie was chewy and soft with a nice crisp at the edge. My family loved the cookies. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaniB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great recipe! Total hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Pretty good cookies. I'd prefer more apricot and less chocolate chips, but I tend to like fruit more than chocolate anyway. Bf was excited I made cookies and went straight for them. He was gobbling them up, so they must be a success! Very soft, chewy and flat cookies, which I like. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Made these cookies sat Aug14, to celebrate my sister's birthday, they came out very good, I love them chewy and the taste of apricot mixed with the chocolate, splendid. This recipe is a keeper. I made no changes other than cutting back on the sugar. Cutting it back by a few tablespoons each sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christaann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I'm a soon to be culinary student. I made these as an experiment. I'm starting with simple ingrediant lists and advancing with every success onto another type of recipe. I found this one to be runny, the cookies were gooey and spread out too much without any advance warning that they would be a very chewy gooey type cookie. I thought the sugar content too high with chocolate and apricot (both of which need little assistance to stand out and which are competitive in flavor and do not need a third overpowering flavor added.) I would make a slighty stronger batter with more of a shortbread in the future as that would have a better complement for chocolate and apricot. Otherwise, it was o.k. but not an all star cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These are delicious cookies! I did take the advice of other reviewers and I added about 1/8 cup of flour (I used a little less than 1/4 cup total). I also used dried cherries because I didn't have apricots and I loved how they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was good and an interesting combination but will not be my "stand by" chocolate chip cookie recipe. I made this the same afternoon as the chocolate chip cookie V recipe. We did a family taste test and the choc chip V's were the unanimous winner. I will try that recipe with the dried apricots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Quite yummy! I skipped the chips and added extra flour (1/8 cup), as one of the reviewers suggested. This def helped keep the cookies cohesive. Be aware that the recipe does not make a whole lot of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe was really very yummy and an interesting combination of flavors. I used a lesser amount of dark chocolate chunks and it worked very well - any more and it would have definitely been too sweet for me. You can see a picture here: http://ovenwanderlust.wordpress.com/2009/05/12/soft-chocolate-chip-apricot-cookies/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States