Chocolate Chip Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this cake for Thanksgiving and it turned out great. I doubled the apples, and I'm glad I did. It tasted good the next day straight from the fridge or warmed in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This cake is the best! We use a ton more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for which makes the cake a dark chocolate base. We also double the amount of apples and there is never too much. We always make this when we need a cake and it stays fresh and moist for days and days. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
SOOOOOOOOOOOOO FAB! We used mini chocolate chips and it was FAB! Assorted types of apples, with a few raisins mixed in for good measure...YUM! Big hit with the pre-school set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I wish I had more stars! WOW! I wanted to take a picture of this, but, I cut into it instead! This was AMAZING! I did add some salt, because, there was none in the recipe and I thought that odd. I used 1/2 brown sugar and added more spices (clove, allspice, extra cinnamon) that is my preference. This blew me away. If you are unsure about this and have everything on hand as I did, I would definitely try it! This makes me wish I had more Honey Crisp apples so I could make another! I can't wait for my son to try this, he is going to want to go to the farm after school and get more apples! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Moynihan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I really enjoyed this. I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of apple butter, in order to lower the fat content. I also used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups of white flour, and it turned out great! I made half as muffins and the other half as a plain sheet cake. Both were really moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made it for my sisters birthday and everybody ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
what agreat recipe,,(,") i did it and my mother in low loved it hehehe thanx v.much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolitta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I made this cake yesterday night and it came out moist and yummy. I used a bundt pan instead since I didn't have tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This cake was very moist and delicious but the taste of apples was subtle, still the tastes of chocolate and cinnamon went together very well. Just a little note, the cake was well done after an hour in my oven so I suggest you check your cake before if your oven is new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This is a great-tasting cake that my family loved. The recipe is very accommodating to variations, as I discovered. You can halve proportions and bake in an 8x8 inch square pan. If you want to speed up baking time, you can bake at 350 instead of 325 and start checking the center for done-ness at around 45 minutes. You can double the amount of cocoa and also increase the apples. I used all whole-wheat flour instead of white flour. I also substituted buttermilk for half the butter, and the finished product was still extremely moist and delicious. The acidity in the buttermilk reacts with the baking soda, so the flavor will not be sour and the reaction will also lighten the cake somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States